Random Thoughts of a Disordered Mind

Incredibly Easy Crockpot Turkey

Leave a comment

TurkeyAn amazingly easy recipe that makes delicious turkey without any fuss and with only two ingredients. Perfect for hot weather when you don’t want to heat up the kitchen.

All you need is a 5 lb fresh or frozen turkey breast, a shaker of lemon pepper, and a crockpot (the oval kind, not the tall vertical kind).

Thaw the turkey breast in the fridge. Spray the crockpot with Pam or your non-fat spray of choice. Sprinkle turkey liberally with lemon pepper and place meat-side down in the crockpot. Cover and cook on HIGH for 2 hours and then change to LOW for 7 hours, and voila! it’s done. It will make its own liquid and make deliciously moist meat.

I cook mine with the skin and then remove it after cooking. I know others in my meeting who take the skin off first. I think it’s moister to cook with the skin on and then take it off, as long as you make sure you don’t eat it.

You can also use the crockpot to cook a boneless turkey breast. I buy a 5 lb. one from Costco that’s all marinated in nice seasonings and tied in netting. I cut the time back to High for 1.5 hrs and Low for 6.5-7. This is my favorite – no bones to mess with and the meat is very tender.

Works well to cook overnight. I start it at 9pm on high, cut back to low at 11pm and go to bed. When I’m up at 6am, it’s ready and I can remove from the pot, debone, etc. Doesn’t take long and the turkey is delicious. I use it for dinner, on sandwiches and wraps, diced into salads, etc. Freezes well for easy use later. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

