Random Thoughts of a Disordered Mind

Hungry Girl advice

Leave a comment

Hungry Girl logoEvery Monday-Friday morning I get an informative, fun email from Hungry Girl with information about one or two new food products, or shockers about things I’ve been eating, or recipes to skinny-up stuff that’s way too over the top for most of us to eat once we know what’s in it.

The Hungry Girl herself follows Weight Watchers and she provides WW points values for the foods she talks about, but the info isn’t associated with WW officially. And you don’t have to be a Weight Watcher person to appreciate what you get.

One thing I’m trying to do is to try one new product/food recommended by Hungry Girl every week. It doesn’t always work because I forget or can’t find one. But I’ve rarely been steered wrong – e.g., those Lean Cuisine Paninis are to die for, but HG was absolutely right about which one is the best and it’s not the one at my store. Worth knowing about so I can hunt it down.

This week she told us about new yummy Lean Cuisine Cafe Classic Bowls. I know I can’t live on them but they sure are handy to have in the freezer when I’m overwhelmed and otherwise would just eat weird stuff. Anyway, I usually agree with whatever HG says is the best one, so that’s what I tried and it was AWESOME. Three Cheese Stuffed Rigatoni is really more just ravioli but they are big raviolis with bright fresh veggies in the bowl, and a satisfying amount of food. I heartily recommend this one – and only 24o calories/4 points! Amazing.

Eating new food keeps life interesting, whether it’s trying something new from the fruit and veggie aisle, a new spritzed salad dressing, a dessert like Vitatop muffins, a tangerine Frappaccino at Starbucks, or cool new varieties of frozen products. Some you will just find so-so, some you’ll hate, and some will become new staples of your weekly dining. Give it a whirl.

If you are not on the Hungry Girl email list, sign yourself up right this minute. The website is wonderful, sure, but the email is better.

Leave a Reply

