Random Thoughts of a Disordered Mind

Steel cut oats revisited

2 Comments

Oatmeal porridgeI woke up this morning to the tantalizing aroma of oatmeal with apples and cinnamon bubbling in the crockpot. The cans of steel cut oatmeal were on sale at my supermarket last night and I snatched up two of them since they can be hard to find, not to mention saving $3 per can is nothing to sneeze about.

The original recipe I posted back in October is the single most popular entry on my blog, which I find fascinating. It makes boatloads of the stuff in a big crockpot, but it keeps well in the fridge and freezes beautifully to take out and have later on. I tend to be rushed in the morning, trying to get ready for work and make lunch and generally wake up, so just being able to zap the pre-cooked oatmeal and add a little milk and maybe some Splenda brown sugar is a great way to have a filling breakfast. Taking the advice of the Shrinking Knitter, I’ve started adding a chopped up apple and “some” cinnamon (I never measure) when I cook it in the first place.

If you don’t have a huge crockpot, I wouldn’t recommend trying to cut this back and cooking it in a small one. I don’t know how to figure out the time. I think you’d be better off making it according to the directions on the can in a pot on the stove (it cooks for 45 minutes or so, if I remember rightly) but then you can also make ahead and from there it would be the same. Adding dried fruit or a chopped apple and cinnamon helps make it more yummy.

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Steel cut oats revisited

  1. thanks!!!!!!!

  2. Update on the steel oats at my house.

    I forgot to put the crock pot on last night – at 3am – as we are walking out the door – it occurs to me that it IS 3am and it could cook for 3 hours on HI and probably not smoke out the house – because it is starting out cold – and it is just 3 hours.

    So, I put 1/2 of a chopped apple and 1/2 c raw and 2 cups of water in on HI. We were back by 5:30am – and it was DONE and just starting to stick. 1/2 cup raw made about 2 cups cooked – so ate 1/2 and put 1/2 in refrigerator for tomorrow.

    So, you are right – could NOT do over night with reduced portions – would burn/stick.

    But, since I am up at wee hours anyway – for me – I think that I could put in 1 1/2 or 2 cups raw and make enough for the week – once a week. Going to try putting 2 cups (with a whole chopped apple) at 2am on HI and see what happens tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

