Random Thoughts of a Disordered Mind

Massage Day

7 Comments

MassageI treated myself to a wonderful restorative hot stone massage after work today, my reward for having to work this Intersession holiday and to end the year on a pampering note. If you’ve never had one of these before, I highly recommend it.

The therapist uses stones heated to 120 degrees, placing them on the body to let the heat penetrate the muscles to allow the massage to go deeper and work on tight knots. She also uses the stones, covered with oil, to actually do some of the massage, which is incredibly relaxing and meditative. I found that after a while I simply felt the weight of the stones on my body and not their heat as I went deeper into the experience.

Massage time is quiet time for me to center in and focus on my body. I pay attention to the feeling of being touched, which doesn’t happen to me all that often – I get touch-deprived, actually, so I want to really savor the experience. I find concentrating on the hands working on my body to be a way to connect with what’s going on with me. As the fingers find problems with muscles and gradually work through the knots, I feel tension release in inside places, too. For me massage isn’t optional, it’s a necessary way to take care of myself.

7 thoughts on “Massage Day

  1. growing up – I slept with cats on my feet – every cat we ever had – always slept on my feet. To this day – I sleep with 2-4 heavy, hot rice bags down my my feet. I nestle my toes under them. I also sleep with several folded quilts – on my legs – it is the “cat” feeling. I have never been able to sleep without it – all those years of cat conditioning.

  2. this isn’t exactly what you were talking about – but it reminded me of your post and I thought you might like to read it.

    http://www.skinnydailypost.com/archives/2003_02_02_skinnydaily_archive.html#000286

  3. I thought about your oatmeal recipe when I read the first part of this:
    http://www.jonnybowden.com/press/remedy-7-2005-2.pdf

  4. I think it is great that you do this for yourself. Pampering oneself should be scheduled in as a weekly (not necessarily a weekly massage but something) appointment. And I envy your ease, comfort and enjoyment of the massage. I have had one massage and though it did feel wonderful. . . it was very hard for me to loosen up in the beginning.

  5. Have a safe and wonderful New Years!!!

  6. Anne, I hope you have a wonderful New Year’s and you get to relax more in 2007. You certainly deserve it. You’re very conscientious and you work so hard.

    I enjoy hearing what you have to say; I know it will be honest and caring. Take care,

Leave a Reply

