Random Thoughts of a Disordered Mind

Back to the gym

5 Comments

Fun FoodGiven how difficult it’s been for me lately to follow the WW program, it’s hard to believe I lived it successfully as long as I did when I first started. Obviously the difference isn’t the program, it’s how well I was actually following it. The WW Flex Plan had morphed into the “Anne Plan” which doesn’t bear much resemblance to the real one. Lack of motivation and focus made it easy to lose track of why I was doing this in the first place.

Today was Day Two of my fresh start. I’m actually full, having eaten all my points and sloshing around with 2.5 liters of water. Breakfast was Steel cut Oatmeal with Splenda Brown Sugar and I Can’t Believe it’s Not Butter spray and a bottle of water. My morning snack was Cheesecake pudding yogurt with mixed berries. Lunch was a big salad of lettuce, homemade black bean and corn salsa, a can of tuna, homemade roasted peppers and onions, 1 TB of blue cheese and 1 TB of craisins, and a clementine. I had the second clementine mid-afternoon after a long meeting.

I went to the gym after work, doing 30 minutes on the treadmill. My goal for this week is to get back into the pattern of going to the gym, and 30 minutes is way more than I’d been doing lately. The reward was a hop in the hot tub after the workout – a treat I love. Driving home, I was getting more and more hungry and was so glad that dinner was planned and easy to prepare – otherwise I’d have just grabbed as much bread as I could find. Instead I had a bowl of homemade vegetable beef & rice soup, Kashi crackers with lite Laughing Cow cheese wedges, and a Healthy Choice premium fudge bar.

Not only did I go to the gym today, I also went online to the gym website and signed up for an appointment with a personal trainer. I don’t have it yet but rather than just say I was going go to do it, I took the step to actually make it happen. Yayy me!

I feel as though I’m waking up – not exactly Sleeping Beauty, waking up from a 100-year sleep, but still. I’ve put a lot on hold while I concentrated on work but I need a bigger life than that, a life with more variety and more people. So it feels good to be taking ground back. I’m also exploring a few classes/lectures at a local adult education center this spring. The things I’ve taken there before have been interesting and educational, and they have some great topics on the list for spring. “Living without Fear” is one that strikes my fancy, along with “Jeff Taylor on Turning 50 and Another “Monster” Idea Called Eons“. But maybe Feng Shui or bridge or salsa dancing. Who knows? I like having possibilities.

5 thoughts on “Back to the gym

  1. Congratulations on getting back on the Weight Loss Wagon – I have fallen off that one myself a time or two! 😀

    You are definitley right – Yayy You!

  2. My “friend” on the eliptical at the gym was very excited to see me back today – because she wanted to tell me that her parents gave her 10 meetings with a personal trainer for x-mas! She is very excited – doing 2 times a week for 5 weeks and then will see where she is. I was so happy for her – she is a dedicated eliptical person – but hasn’t branched out on to anything else yet – and she really wants to.

    If you ever see a Ti Chi class under the exercise for arthritis category – you might consider trying it – I did a 6 week session once and loved it – no impact, no thrashing around – very slow and controlled (standing) moves.

  3. Sounds like you had a wonderful, on-track day. I know all about “tweaks” to the plan (as I sit here eating my “Core” Key Lime Pie fat-free yogurt). Sometimes getting back to basics is all that it takes.

  4. I hope you write about the appointment with the personal trainer.

    Sounds like you had a fantastic “food ” day. Must get back on program today, was using the excuse . . . waiting for son to get back in school.

  5. Great job! I’m really excited for you. You sound very determined and focused. You go!

Leave a Reply

