Random Thoughts of a Disordered Mind

Small victory

3 Comments

Victorious womanI am very pleased with myself. My afternoon schedule yesterday was out of whack because I had an eye doctor’s appointment that threw me out of my routine. After work I was off to my first T’ai Chi class and I’d expected to just go from work and not have time to dilly dally around. But going from the clinic instead, I had not enough time to go home but too much time to go right to the center.

Free time = time to find something to eat.

I wasn’t really all that hungry, having had a big salad at lunch with all kinds of interesting flavors and textures. And I’d already calculated out what I was going to have for dinner when I got home and I had no extra points available for the day, though were some left in the weekly flex allowance. Since I ate so many of those on one box of WW treats on Sunday, though, I am trying to just stay within my daily points to compensate.

However, Starbucks was on the corner. I was cold, they have hot things. With nibbles to go with them. I was comfortable getting a tall non-fat chai latte, having done that before and figuring out how I could adjust food so I could account for it. My eye then fell on the little packets of chocolate covered cookies right at the register. Clearly they are there so people like me can impulse-buy them, snarf them down, and then hit themselves in the head and say, “what possessed me?”

I bought one package of two milk-chocolate covered graham crackers and promptly bit into one. It was divine. Chocolatey, rich tasting, yummy. But I was getting nervous about the idea of eating two. “I’ll save the second one until after class,” I said to myself virtuously. Ha ha ha. That was not a likely story. Then I had the presence of mind to pull out the package and look at the label. I know, it’s a novel concept.

The serving size was not the whole package of two crackers, it was ONE cracker at 140 calories and 7 gms of fat each. Even on the fly I could calculate that as at least 3 points, and as much as I liked one of them, I could not justify eating two. It wouldn’t taste any better and would just suck me into a pit of “oh well, what’s the difference now?” So I threw that perfectly good yummy milk chocolate covered graham cracker away and walked purposefully to T’ai Chi. Yayyyy me!

In the scheme of things, this was a small small food decision. But it was surprisingly hard to make. Eat a whole pizza? nope, not gonna do it. Eat a big serving of brownies a la mode? nope, not gonna do it. Eat two chocolate covered cookies? That is a lot harder. If I hadn’t looked at the package and verified the serving size and the nutritional value, I might have just mindlessly eaten it, nibble by nibble, and probably have forgotten to record it. Instead, I tossed the cookie, kept the wrapper, and recorded it in my journal when I got home. I ate cereal for dinner to compensate but I was okay with it – I stayed within my points 🙂

3 thoughts on “Small victory

  1. It is a victory!

    Not too many people THROW away food.

    You looked at the nutritional label and evaluated it.

    You recorded it in your journal and you’re writing about it now.

    V-I-C-T-O-R-Y = Anne

  2. That is a great victory! I have a hard time throwing away food, especially if it’s tasty or expensive (Starbucks’ treats are both). But it’s just as wasted as fat on my butt as it is in the trash.

    You are awesome. Did you like T’ai Chi?

  3. i had cereal for both breakfast and dinner yesterday… gotta love special k with berries, only 2 points per cup… :o)

Leave a Reply

