Random Thoughts of a Disordered Mind

Trying Not to Get Sick

2 Comments

Today was a holiday for me, one I actually took off to stay home for a change. I puttered around and paid bills, did laundry, scrubbed the bathtub, flipped my mattress and changed sheets, and sorted some genealogy files. And made a run to the grocery store once again (I seem to go on an almost daily basis) because I forgot to get enough fruit to turn into a big fruit salad to take to work tomorrow. We’re having a get together to welcome a new staff member and my assignment is the fruit – at least I know I can eat that instead of grabbing a bagel and stuffing it down my face.

Actually, I was down 2.8 lbs at yesterday’s weigh in and that is motivating enough to keep me away from the bagels, at least this time. I’ve been working hard to keep my points within my daily range and not overdo the weekly flex options, and to work out.

That didn’t work today, though, because mid-afternoon I was hit by a wave ofSick woman sickness. Not stomache, just a sudden sore throat, itchy eyes and a nose that wouldn’t stop running. My ears were also blocked up. It was as though a switch had been turned on, the sick switch, and all I wanted to do was go home and curl up and sip tea and try not to do anything stupid. I had no energy to go to the gym or do anything more than make a pot of soup and watch Oprah.

Even not feeling well, though, I still stayed within my points. It helped to have written (okay, electronically recorded) my food choices for all my meals and snacks in advance so I knew what wiggle room I had. I’m way over on my water consumption, having had at least 95 ounces today plus other liquids. I don’t feel water logged, though, just muddle-headed and trying not to swallow.

Let’s hope I wake up feeling more myself.

2 thoughts on “Trying Not to Get Sick

  1. The water should help flush out the bug you may be getting. Hope you feel better tomorrow.

  2. Congratulations on the weight loss and I hope you feel better.

Leave a Reply

