Random Thoughts of a Disordered Mind

Spicy Vegetable Beef Soup

4 Comments

Vegetable SoupWinter is a cold time, especially with Arctic fronts and snow/ice storms moving in. I love cooking a big pot of soup or chili that I can eat and reheat, getting warm from the inside.

This soup freezes well and is one of my favorites. I got the recipe from my mom 🙂


Spicy Vegetable Beef Soup
Yield: 7 servings, approx. 1- 1/3 C. each. 5 points/serving1 pound cooked lean ground turkey
1 medium onion(s), chopped
2 tsp minced garlic
1 jar or can chunky garden spaghetti sauce
10 oz canned beef broth
2 cup water
1 1/2 tsp Splenda
1/2 tsp salt (I use sea salt)
1/2 tsp black pepper
10 oz canned tomatoes with green chilies
16 oz frozen mixed vegetables
1/2 cup uncooked white (or brown) rice

Brown ground turkey, onion and garlic and drain. Transfer into a Crockpot sprayed with cooking spray. Add all ingredients except rice. Cover and cook on Low for 4 hours. Add rice and cook another 20 minutes.

4 thoughts on “Spicy Vegetable Beef Soup

  1. Thank you for this I am going to make it this weekend. We are expecting a lot of snow over the next few days and could use a warm up

  2. I hope you like it – I’ve taken to keeping all the ingredients on hand just in case of things like snow storms (we’re having one tomorrow ourselves) or cold rainy days when I want to stay warm inside.

  3. Thanks so much for your comments on my Week #1. I feel much better this week. I think it was mind over matter. I actually have convinced my husband now to do this with me. He keeps calling me asking for point values of stuff come to find out he is going over points with all his work friends and telling them how bad their lunch is for them nice huh?

  4. I bought MasterCook at Staples just so I could figure out points for recipes, but it’s always nice to get them and have the points already figured out. Hope you’re staying warm, Anne.

Leave a Reply

