Random Thoughts of a Disordered Mind

Bring on the Flowers

4 Comments

Dozen red rosesTomorrow is Valentine’s Day and I’m not too excited about it. It’s the Couples Holiday and the Chocolate Holiday – it can be hard to be single and see the commercials and news articles about finding the perfect present, analyzing chocolate and telling you where to buy what will make her happy (hah! ask me, I can tell you). Jewelry stores dangling diamonds in front of people who can’t afford them and feel pressured to measure up to something external. I like sparkly things as much as the next person, but I’m happy with Diamonique. And I buy that for myself and get what I want.

I try to avoid V-Day chocolate. Mostly it’s the stuff in boxes at CVS, not the really good chocolate from Godiva that’s worth savoring. I’d really rather have flowers and I bought them for myself. The local PBS radio station had a pledge drive that included, for a time, the chance to pledge and get a dozen long-stemmed red roses from a local florist with gorgeous flowers. I supported the station that brings me NPR and also will be getting a big box of flowers tomorrow – at work – with a note reading, “You are So Worth It! – Love, Me.”

Much as I love chocolate, flowers last longer and don’t make my tummy unhappy from the unfamiliar richness. What are you doing for yourself for Valentine’s Day? How will you feel if someone brings you chocolate? What will you do if you see boxes of it sitting around – or worse yet, lurking for you on the leftover shelf at 50% off on Thursday?

4 thoughts on “Bring on the Flowers

  1. Love, love, love what you wrote on the card with your flowers! LOVE IT!

    What am I doing for myself today? Same thing I do every day … work out, eat (mostly) right, park my ass in front of the computer. Does that mean I think I’m worth it every day? Maybe …

  2. Fabulous idea with the roses!

    After work, I’m planning to indulge in a little pampering. I’m going to give myself a facial and a mani-pedi. Sometimes when I’m feeling a little decadent, I also like to drink selzer or ginger ale with frozen strawberries in a wine glass.

    And… as a special V-Day gift to myself, I’m going to sign up for a Tuscan cooking class being held at an area botanical garden!

  3. Anne:
    Great idea! Next time I meet a milestone that is important only to me – I’m gonna order up a dozen white gladiolus flowers (my favorite) with a great message like yours.

    The chocolate would only give me a headache, so my husband knows not to bring home chocolate (plus he would buy the grocery store kind – not the good stuff).

    Have a great day and enjoy those beautiful roses.

  4. We don’t do Valentine’s day gifts or any of that stuff. I’m mostly working on my dissertation today. I love what you put on your flowers. 🙂

Leave a Reply

