Random Thoughts of a Disordered Mind

Crockpot Rotisserie Chicken

8 Comments

Roasted ChickenI found this recipe on the WeightWatchers.com message boards (must have etools account or a WW monthly pass for access) and made it this weekend. It’s an easy recipe, tasted yummy, but was a little bit messy because I overcooked it and the chicken fell apart. Oops. The meat was just fine but it made retrieving and picking it out a bit of a challenge.


Crockpot Rotisserie Chicken
1 whole chicken
olive oil cooking spray
Lawry’s seasoning salt
aluminum foil

Spray inside of crockpot with olive oil cooking spray. Clean chicken inside and out. Spray chicken with olive oil cooking spray. Sprinkle with seasoning salt. Note: Do not put any water in the crockpot. Roll 3 or 4 wads of aluminum foil into 2”-3” balls and put them in the bottom of the crockpot. Place the chicken, breast side down, on top of these aluminum foil balls.

Cook on HIGH (will not come out the same if cooked on LOW) for 4-6 hours. (My 4.5 lb turkey cooked for 5 hours and it was too long, so keep an eye on it). Remove skin before serving.You have to use the aluminum to get the deli taste. This chicken tastes very close to one you would buy, precooked, in the deli section of your supermarket.

Yield: 1 chicken
Points: 1 point per ounce of chicken

The original recipe had a variation: to wrap up individual small potatoes in foil and place them in the bottom of the slow cooker to make the foil balls. I tried it and it was very messy. The potatoes ended up sitting in chicken fat and got punctured by the falling apart chicken (the bones had a life of their own, apparently). I threw out the potatoes because they were too fatty. Next time I’m making this with just wadded up foil balls. But I will make it again!

8 thoughts on “Crockpot Rotisserie Chicken

  1. I might have trouble discarding the skin if it was as crispy and brown as it looks in your photo…. Usually the skin on a crockpot chicken is so slimy that it’s no sacrifice.

  2. Thanks for the recipe . . . sounds great! I am always looking for good slow cooker recipes.

    I just wanted to come out of lurking and let you know I enjoy reading your blog.

  3. I will be making this tomorrow! Thanks I love meals that I don’t have to hover over.

  4. I make a variation of this recipe regularly. It is a fav of all who eat it. My variation is in the seasoning – you CAN NOT overdo the seasoning! I absolutely cover it with a mix of whatever I pull out of the spice cabinet but be sure to include at least oregano, basil, thyme, garlic powder, paprika, chilli powder. It took me 3 times of progressivly adding more seasoning to realize the more the merrier.

  5. Pingback: crock pot rotisserie chicken

  6. I made this yesterday and I can’t figure out where I flopped. My chicken didn’t get brown at all, so it didn’t taste anywhere near rotisserie. The chicken WAS cooked, I’ll say that for sure. I ended up putting it in the oven for another 30 minutes to get brown, otherwise no one would touch it. I’ll try it again.

  7. Pingback: Feeling Happy and Productive « Random Thoughts of a Disordered Mind

  8. Pingback: Overdoing Cooking « Random Thoughts of a Disordered Mind

Leave a Reply

