Random Thoughts of a Disordered Mind

Break out the bubbly

9 Comments

Champagne bottleIt’s time to celebrate! Fizzy water will do if you don’t have any champagne handy – or choose not to drink it.

The reason for the celebration? I accepted a new job! yes, that’s right – after 17 years working here at Big Urban University, I’m moving south a few states to work at Smaller Elite University later this spring.

It’s a big change for me, stepping down from a senior administrative position to manage a smaller unit, but this is a quality of life decision. I’ll be working with people I already know, like and respect from years of interaction at the national and regional levels. The library is well funded, always a nice thing when you’re building research collections.

And I’ll be moving from large Boston to a smaller community. I’ve never been a big city person, other than vacations to places like NYC, and I’ve been getting antsy to change that, too. I’ve happily lived in small college towns and small cities and am looking forward to going back to that again.

I don’t know when I start this new adventure – we’re still working out the start date – but sometime late May or early June. I’m a senior level manager now and need to give appropriate notice as well as complete some traveling to fulfill national responsibilities. Makes me sound important to say that but I still have 4 trips before the end of April, plus a vacation trip to NYC with friends.

So – I’ll get back to serious weight discussions soon but today I’ve just been telling people my news and letting it sink in. Woooohoooo!

9 thoughts on “Break out the bubbly

  1. Found you! Am so happy for you and this new job.

    BTW, I read down a few posts. From almost day one I used my flex points at a rate of 5/day. We don’t eat out much so there wasn’t much point in saving them up for anything special. I think it went a long way to helping me feel satisfied most of the day.

    I’ll be back!

  2. Congrats on the job! I can say from experience that liking what you do AND liking where you work and who you work with is such a wonderful thing. Having worked in the pits of Hades, I’m so content with my job now, and I’m sure it’s had a lot to do with my ability to lose weight. I’m not eating over work-related stress! So good luck with the move!

  3. A toast to your good fortune! Congratulations!

  4. I can’t tell you enough how happy I am for you. Even though there’s a lot to do (home hunting, packing, sorting), you have a fun adventure ahead, I think!

    P.S. I always knew you’d get the job. 🙂

  5. Anne, CONGRATS!!!!!!! How exciting for you. Some library is WAY lucky. I don’t know if our professional paths will cross at some point, but here’s really hoping so. BIG BIG hugs.

  6. CONGRATS TO YOU… good luck!! with the move and all that goes with that.. What an exciting new chapter in your life!!

  7. A toast with my grapefruit juice to you! Congratulations on your new job!

  8. Yay yay yay for you!!! Congratulations…it sounds wonderful. 🙂 I’ll raise a glass to you tonight (since it’s the weekend, I’m allowed to have a little drinkee).

  9. As one of Anne’s current colleagues, I am SO happy for her and SOOO sad for us… We at Big Urban University will miss her talent, but most importantly I will miss Anne’s grace and willingness to spend part of her busy schedule being a friend. Smaller Elite University is very lucky to get you. Thank you for being a great colleague and friend over the last 7 years!

Leave a Reply

