Random Thoughts of a Disordered Mind

Seeing how far I’ve come

2 Comments

Surreal glassesI’ve been maintaining an Excel spreadsheet to keep track of my weight since I joined WW in July 2002. Oh sure, I use the little white things that WW gives out, but they are only good for 16 weeks and, let’s face it, when you do this for 5 years, you need another way to see long-term trends and progress. It’s easy to get bogged down in seeing a plateau or lack of progress if you only see a few weeks at a time. It’s the long-term picture that really matters.

When I recorded today’s weigh-in results on my chart today (2.8 lbs), I realized that I now weigh exactly what I did on July 31, 2006. In the interim 8 months, I added 14 pounds and took them off again, which is a miracle considering what I would have done in the past. No wait, it’s not a miracle, it’s the result of hard work.

This process isn’t going fast but it is moving when I take the time to really look. I’m more happy with the things I’ve learned than the number on the scale, though, and it feels good.

I have small weight goals, doable but significant, to get me to 70 lbs gone and into the next “decade” on the scale. And I have an idea where I’d like to be when I start my new job. They are realistic goals, much as I’d like to wave a wand and suddenly fit into those clothes hanging in the closet. I will appreciate that more if I work hard to earn it.

2 thoughts on “Seeing how far I’ve come

  1. I love the perspective and wisdom reflected in this post. I find the long-term graphing to be really helpful too — otherwise it’s too easy to get stuck in the drama of each week’s ups and downs. I’m sure you’ll be able to achieve your goals, especially now that some of the other clutter that was distracting you is cleared out of the way.

  2. This is a really thoughtful post about goals, seeing where you’ve been and where you’re going. I feel confident that you’ll reach your goals. You’re right about the long-term view. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

