Random Thoughts of a Disordered Mind

Transition

2 Comments

Trinity Church tower in the fogThe streets of the Back Bay were quiet this morning as I walked down Newbury Street. It was too early for shoppers, too raw and chilly for coffee drinkers to be festive and chatty outside of Starbucks. The air was heavy and damp with layers of fog hiding the top of the Pru, making it look sawed off and chunky.

This was probably the last time I’d take this walk, at least as a resident, and I was glad to have the private time. Normally Newbury Street is bustling and crowded, with crazy drivers slowly snaking down the street past double-parked cars in front of high-priced stores. Today though was for the locals and not tourists and it was a balm for my crazied spirit.

It’s starting to hit me that I’m really leaving here, not just moving to something new. I have goodbyes to say to places as well as people. Today was the Back Bay and Copley Square, an area where I’ve spent a lot of time. Tomorrow is about WW, packing and cleaning. But next weekend I want to be able to just drive around and soak it in. If the weather’s good, maybe I’ll walk some of the Freedom Trail. I wish you blogging friends were here so I could share it with you.

2 thoughts on “Transition

  1. I walked a little of the Freedom Trail on my last trip to Boston. You’re leaving a wonderful city but I hope you find you love your new home too. Great entry, very evocative. 🙂

  2. I wish I was in Boston right now. I lived there for 10 years before I moved out west, and I miss it something fierce. Boston is my home away from home. I can totally relate to how you’re feeling right now. Enjoy the rest of your time there, and best of luck in your new adventure!

Leave a Reply

