Random Thoughts of a Disordered Mind

Forging a new life

Leave a comment



My birthday roses

I had lunch today with a new friend, someone I’ve worked with on a virtual committee for the last year and who works at the main library literally across the street from my building. We have a mutual friend in common, another librarian with music connections, and the conversation flowed easily as we got acquainted and figured out ways we intersected. I think J is someone I’d enjoy spending time with outside of a work setting and I like that I’m getting to know people in that way. It takes time to build relationships but I’m starting.

There is a cemetery that I pass every day on the way to and from work, with a second one not far from my building on campus. Both are old and close to the street with elaborate monuments and frequently flowers splashing color into the scene. I like that they’re just there, not homogenized or hidden away and difficult to find. Dealing with death is a part of life and somehow it comforts me to see them. It’s a balance and reminds me that since I’m not a resident of the cemetery, I want to really live my life to the fullest.

Leave a Reply

