Random Thoughts of a Disordered Mind

What to Tell the Doctor

1 Comment

Child’s drawing of a doctorTomorrow is my first appointment with my new doctor here in my new home. I picked my brain and came up with a 4 page set of lists of things that I thought someone would probably either ask me or want to know, such as who my Boston doctors were, allergies, ongoing medical issues, current medications, surgeries, etc. Tho that might be all. My brain doesn’t retain this information for very long and I can’t spell medical words without spell check to fix the mistakes, so it was easier to just write it up in advance.

The purpose of the visit is really to sort out my CPAP situation. You may remember from my Day in Insurance Hell that although I need the machine to help me live with sleep apnea, who actually is paying for the one I’m breathing with now is up for grabs. I need to get this sorted out and quickly.

But this is the first time I’ve seen the doctor. And I don’t know what else she’s likely to ask or want to know. It’s going to be quite obvious that I am obese and I have a sneaky suspicion that she will bring it up – because in my experience, all doctors bring it up. It’s as though they don’t know that I already know this about myself.

Weight is the elephant in the room. The doctor knows that I need to lose weight and I know that I need to lose weight. Who will say something first? Waiting for her to bring it up will make me anxious – already is, actually – and is likely to raise my blood pressure. Or I could take charge of it and raise it myself first, which would give me a chance to say, “I have had a life-long weight problem and although I have more to lose, I have maintained a 70 lbs weight loss for 5 years.”

The trick is being able to do it simply to impart information, not to get defensive or combative. The conversation will happen sometime – it always does – so I think maybe I need to practice. I might need it tomorrow.

One thought on “What to Tell the Doctor

  1. I’m sorry that you’re worried about this but I know that doctors can be jerks about weight. I like your planned speech. I think it tells her everything she needs to know.

    Hope the CPAP situation gets sorted out.

Leave a Reply

