Random Thoughts of a Disordered Mind

Making Menopause Fun

2 Comments

The MusicalNight sweats, hot flashes, memory loss, and other aspects of The Change are unlikely subjects for a musical comedy, but Menopause: The Musical isn’t your average show. I haven’t laughed so much in ages and it was wonderful to LOL with an audience almost entirely of women who really get what this was all about.

Menopause: The Musical is a celebration of women who are on the brink of, in the middle of, or have survived The Change set to 25 songs of the 60’s and 70’s. There are four characters – Power Woman, Soap Star, Iowa Housewife, and Earth Mother – who meet fighting over lingerie on sale at Bloomingdales. They bond on floor after floor, singing and joking and sharing stories about living with and through menopause.

There are songs about vibrators, songs about their mothers who still think these middle-aged women are children, and songs about chocolate cravings and mood enhancing medication like Prozac. And, of course, songs about hot flashes (“I’m having a hot flash, a tropical hot flash” was but one).

I got lost on the way to the theater so I’m glad I built time into the schedule to get lost and found again. The theater is plopped in the middle of warehouse buildings and isn’t obvious unless you know what you’re looking for, which of course I didn’t. My friend stood and waved at her car while we talked on the cell so I could find the right spot after driving around for about 20 minutes. I did find Ikea, though I wasn’t actually looking for it.

Now it’s the day after and I’m still flying high from the good time last night. I bought the CD of the show and am listening to the songs again even as I type. If you ever have a chance to go see this, go for it – and bring a bunch of friends. You’ll have the time of your life.

2 thoughts on “Making Menopause Fun

  1. That looks like so much fun! I will have to keep my eye out if they come to my town.

  2. Glad you enjoyed it and that you got found again after getting lost. 🙂

Leave a Reply

