Random Thoughts of a Disordered Mind

I Found a Kitty!

6 Comments

TatiannaI’ve been checking out Petfinder.com for the months, looking at kitties and planning to bring one home. I knew I needed to wait until my parents had visited and I have a trip to Chicago this weekend that I wanted to have behind me first. After so long without a cat, why get one only to leave it alone right away? Some really sweet ones have come and gone, adopted by new families, and others have joined the available pets from animal rescue and shelter organizations.

But now I’ve found my kitty. Her name is Tatianna and she’s about 4 years old. Her former owners were going to have her put down when they moved rather than find her a new home. Fortunately someone was in the right place as the right time to save her from that, and has been giving her a good foster home for the last month. She’s been spayed and is up to date with all her shots, and her fur was described as “bunny soft.”

Her foster mom says that Tatianna is very friendly and affectionate and will love being the center of attention. I will certainly be able to give her that! I’ve been checked out and approved – single librarians are good at passing vetting checks – and when I come back from Chicago, I’m off for an hour’s drive to go pick her up. Yayyy!

6 thoughts on “I Found a Kitty!

  1. Aw, what a sweet kitty! What kind of people would have their cat put down rather than finding it a new home?

    Anyway, I bet you and Tatianna will be great together.

  2. Bunny soft…she’ll be a bit like Flynn.

    I agree with Susan about her original owners. I’m sorry but I think there’s a special place for people like that.

    I know you will have so much fun with that sweet little kitty.

  3. The cat is adorable. I know that she will love living with you. I saw your note about writing everything down and starting with that first step instead of trying to be perfect all in one giant step and it sounded so sane and so kind to yourself. It is so hard keeping everything together all the time. Glad you are being kind to yourself.

  4. Oh, Anne, congrats! I got my kitten (now a big cat) on PetFinders too. I hope she brings you as much joy as my Jonty does me (although my other cat, Molly, well, she’s still a bit ambivalent, but heck, it’s another bowl she can eat out of). And I agree with Vickie–be good to yourself–treat yourself with the kindness and understanding that you treat all of us with. None of us are perfect and we all have really bad days. We just have to figure out a way to get through them without letting them destroy us. Sounds like you’re on the way to figuring that out.

    Hugs.

  5. Great news! Can’t wait to hear how you get along. Have a good trip.

  6. Bless you for giving that adorable kitty a home! What idiot wants to euthanize a perfectly healthy, 4-year-old kitty??!!! People amaze me!!

    Cats are wonderful gifts we give ourselves–we have two, one we found living (starving) at a gas station, and he’s a wonderful kitty!

    Enjoy your girl!

    Jules

Leave a Reply

