Random Thoughts of a Disordered Mind

A Better Eggnog Option

3 Comments

Edy’s Eggnog Slow Churned Ice CreamEggnog is a major holiday weakness for me with its rich flavors. Spiked is wonderful but I’d drink it almost straight from the carton. Being around for only a few weeks once a year makes it so easy to pick up when I’m grocery shopping – no need to go anywhere special, it’s right next to the milk.

It is, however, deadly for the diet. One cup of eggnog (which isn’t much when you really like it) has 342 calories and 19 grams of fat, and 34 grams of carbohydrates. That works out to 8 points if you’re doing WW and who wants to waste 8 points on one cup of something, even if it is wonderful? It doesn’t last as long as real food.

So I was thrilled to see that the good folks at Edy’s have come out with Eggnog Slow Churned Ice Cream in a limited edition for the season. 1/2 C. has 110 calories and 3 grams of fat, for 2 WW points and lots of yummy rich flavor. That’s much more reasonable to include in my menu planning than 8 points for a cup of the liquid version – and it takes longer to eat, too. These things matter.

There will be food everywhere for the next 5-6 weeks. Chocolate candy from vendors and homemade cookies at work, dessert parties, lunches and dinners out – and eggnog. At least now I have one option to let me have the taste without the damage.

3 thoughts on “A Better Eggnog Option

  1. I buy the slow churned stuff for the kids – for many of the reasons that you mentioned. The numbers really aren’t that bad!

    I loved your post on the Car Warning Lights – very good.

    There are so many things that I jump on – or stay ahead of so they never actually happen – then there are other things – sometimes appearing far less complicated – over which I seem to have total Paralysis (with a capital “P”).

    The Paralysis things fester. They multiply in my head. They keep me up at night. I think of them a million times a day. And when I FINALLY just take care of them – they are “nothing” a bit at a time – it is so much worse in my head than in reality.

    My grandmother always used to say that she and my grandpa NEVER went to bed angry and they had a very long and happy marriage. I always believed her when she said that – not that they didn’t disagree – they just didn’t let things fester. I could follow that advice with my “undone/worry things” and have much more piece of mind.

    I loved your post.

  2. Eggnog is like my kryptonite. I am the only one in this household who will drink it so I wait until Christmas Eve to buy some because you gotta have a cup on Christmas Eve.

    I will have to look for the ice cream. I did, however, find the pumpkin ice cream.

  3. Totally off-topic, but I love your pix of Tessie under the tree. Aww… what a good cat! We used to keep cats (usually two at a time) and there was *no way* we could ever have had a tree – the cats would have destroyed it in no time.

Leave a Reply

