Random Thoughts of a Disordered Mind

Christmas Music and Office Decor

2 Comments

Christmas Music JukeboxMy current favorite Christmas song is God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen/We Three Kings recorded by the Barenaked Ladies with Sarah McLachlan. I’ve added it to my iTunes both at home and the office, along with an assortment of other relatively soft Christmas tunes, where they play in “party shuffle” rotation while I’m working.

There’s something happy about plugging away on a project and hearing a few Christmas song every now and then in the office soundtrack. I’m already tired of the idea of all Christmas music all the time — it’s not even December yet, for heaven’s sake – but the occasional seasonal tune reminds me that this isn’t ordinary time.

We decorated at the office today, with people pulling out hoarded supplies of little trees, figurines, ornaments, and little wreaths. All of my office decorations were left behind when I moved so I need to find some new things that will work with my new space because I like the visual as well as the musical touches. My boss has an amazing collection of Christmasy frogs (who knew??) so our end of the office is already pretty festive.


You Are a Tree


You love every part of the holidays, down to the candy canes and stockings. And you’re goofy enough to put a Christmas tree ornament on your tree!

What Christmas Ornament Are You?

2 thoughts on “Christmas Music and Office Decor

  1. Personal (and obscure) Christmas favourites for me include THanks for Christmas by The Three Wise Men (otherwise known as XTC) and This Christmas, Glenn Hughes’ version of the Donny Hathaway song

  2. Anne, that is my favorite Christmas carol too. I have it on my ipod and walk to it. It’s so jazzy and the perfect song to step it up a bit. And I don’t feel awkward at all, listening to it in Feb, June or August!

Leave a Reply

