Random Thoughts of a Disordered Mind

Trip to NYC and More

2 Comments

It’s been a busy weekend. Yesterday I took the train down to NYC, meeting up with our Frances for some Christmas shopping. I should have figured out that everyone and his brother would be on the train, to see the Christmas windows, skate at Rockefeller Center, check out the Rockettes, maybe see The Grinch on Broadway, and, of course, shop. I actually saw one of my WW meeting mates in the line for the ladies’ room at Grand Central.

Vegetable PeopleOur first stop was Union Square for the Christmas Fair, which is full of color and over 100 vendors with all sorts of things we all just have to have. Ornaments and Christmas decorations, of course, but also textiles of all shapes and kinds, jewelry, art work, ceramics and pottery, candles, and just general stuff. We went last year and found a number of the same vendors (yes, the woman with the chubby ladies ornaments was there and they are still adorable). Frances and I both did quite a bit of Christmas shopping and left loaded down. No, I’m not telling you what we got because some of you will be seeing packages arrive soon.

We took the subway uptown (or maybe downtown – I’m pretty directionally challenged underground in NYC) to Chinatown. Our goal was to have lunch and wander around to see stuff, taking some pictures. Much to my delight, four different people asked us if we wanted handbags. FK says that in all the years she’s been in NYC, she’s only been asked that when I was with her – it happened the last time, too. We only visited two because, well, how many bags do I need? And how much cash did I have anyway? One was down some steep stairs to a basement room full of bags including some yummy patchwork Coach bags and some tiny moc croc kiwi green Pradas.

Lunch was in a tiny Malasian restaurant with a menu the size of a book, yummy with Asian flavors and aromas. I rarely have Chinese or Thai food here and really miss it. It was good to sit down and have the chance to reorganize our various packages. After lunch we found ourselves in Little Italy, all bedecked in an overabundance of decorations. To look at the lights running across the streets, Buon Natale was being brought to us by Sorrento Cheese, which I thought quite endearing.

Our next destination was one we discovered on my last visit – a Chinese back rub place on Spring Street. Both of us were tied into major knots up and down our bodies and spending an hour with very strong hands working them out was simply divine. The time flew by in the quiet of the dark room, interrupted only by the almost orgasmic sounds of a man on another table near us. Something to giggle about after we left, feeling refreshed and pummeled at the same time. I admit that I’m pretty sore today in the places that had the deepest work, but they were in the worst shape in the first place.

Rice to Riches Dessert SignWe had dessert at a place called Rice to Riches — a whole shop that sells only rice pudding. Yeah, I know, it has to be a New York thing because it wouldn’t last long anywhere I’ve ever lived. It was very clean and trendy, full of happy people eating exotic flavors like pecan pie, gingerbread, apple pie, and about 12 more kinds, all in large size containers. It was rich and creamy and I enjoyed it a lot, but the single serve portion was huge. I only ate about 3/4 cup or less and threw out the rest. Whoever said it was a single portion has never been to WW.

I had a small crisis at home when I finally got there. My kitty was inside meowing for me but my key just went around and around in the deadbolt, which was locked. Oops. Tessie was too short and doesn’t have opposable thumbs, so she would have been hard pressed to open the door from the inside. Maintenance was called and came quite promptly, I have to say. Their solution was to break a window to break in and open the door from the inside, with window and door both to be repaired on Monday. It worked but it was messy and it freaked out Tessie.

Today was gray and you could feel the approaching snow heavy in the air. I spent the morning wrapping presents and then finding the UPS Store to ship out most of the pile, which was really festive, I must say. I also picked up the ubiquitous milk and bread, among other things, at the grocery store before the bad weather comes, as well as dumping trash and recycling. This afternoon I paid bills, did laundry, and tried to tidy up the mess left from wrapping this morning, with Tessie trailing me from room to room.

It’s time now for frozen peas on the knee and a heating pad on a sore spot on the back, preferably with a kitty cuddled close. I don’t want to go to work tomorrow but since that’s on the agenda, I need to get refreshed and ready.

2 thoughts on “Trip to NYC and More

  1. How fun all that sounds. And especially fun if it becomes an annual tradition!

  2. Did the cat accidentally flip the deadbolt or did it break some how???

Leave a Reply

