Random Thoughts of a Disordered Mind

Maintenance on Hold

2 Comments

Window RepairI had the brilliant thought as I was dropping into sleep last night that if they replaced my locks today, I wouldn’t be able to get in when I got home. Both locks (deadbolt and the other wimpy one) use the same key so both will be replaced. So I stayed home from work today, something I really didn’t have time to do, in order to let them in to do the work and clean up whatever mess they made. And also to protect the cat from freaking out.

Well, it was a good idea but it didn’t work. No, she didn’t freak out. They didn’t show up! Pffffffffft, so much for wasting a day off that I didn’t have to spend (I used a sick day because I can’t use vacation time until January). Maintenance didn’t show up and didn’t reply to a message, so I persevered after lunch when it became obvious that getting to work was not gonna happen. I just needed to know when they were coming and how I would go about getting a key.

I think they were really just doing faster maintenance things today to catch up on a backlog of requests called in over the weekend. They did deliver a new window which will be installed tomorrow and told me that they will leave the new key at the complex main office to be picked up before 5pm.

So tomorrow morning I’m back to moving the litter box, scratching post, and food/water bowls into my bedroom with Tessie so she’ll be out of the way of all the noise and activity. I hope she doesn’t freak out too much. Vickie, Tessie isn’t responsible for locking the door from the inside. It’s the lack of opposable thumbs things. It broke all by itself in some mysterious way.

2 thoughts on “Maintenance on Hold

  1. We have had locks that were easily moveable – a well placed dog nose or a jumping cat could easily unlock or even open door. On our first route there was a German Sheppherd that could unlock and open door if they didn’t have the chain latched. One night we got there about 4am in a terrible snow storm – front door was standing open with about a foot of snow IN the house. This was before we knew about the dog. There were no lights on and it was well below zero. I truly wondered WHAT had happened and called the police. A mom and two teenage sons were asleep in there and had not realized that it was SO cold because the door was open and had been for hours.

  2. If you are wondering why we didn’t make our own locks harder to work – it was because of the toddler/kids – so they could get door unlocked and open in an emergency.

Leave a Reply

