Random Thoughts of a Disordered Mind

Saturday Roundup

Leave a comment

Patient in a Hospital Bed with IVMy mom is still in the hospital tonight. There’s something in her blood work that needs investigating; I’m not quite sure what because her doctor had to run to surgery and was going to explain when he got out, which hasn’t happened yet. She’s feeling better but is still very weak and had a fall today in her room when she bent down to pick something up out of her bag. So I’m glad she’s staying over where they can take care of her and figure out what’s going on.

Sleeping in this morning was its usual lovely treat. I’m not a morning person and being able to snuggle under the covers until 7am makes me feel decadent. Tessie, of course, thinks I should be up and feeding her earlier than that but she’s patient enough to wait curled up on the bottom of the bed until I make “waking up” noises. She definitely gets points for that.

My only outing today was a combo run. First I went to the dumpster/recycling bin with a boatload of cardboard (think shipping boxes for Christmas presents), old phone books, and bottles/cans, and then was off to join the crowd at the grocery store. There were lots of Star and Tree Lightsholiday shoppers but Saturday is a normal grocery day for many people anyway – and tomorrow we’re expecting rain the whole day and who wants to lug groceries in the rain?

I admit that I bought weirdo stuff. Healthy things like vegetables and Fage yogurt and milk and ground turkey. And necessities like Diet Pepsi and potato rolls. And questionable things like slow-churned ice cream and chocolate chip cookie dough in a tub. I did not, however, stock up on the apple pie or eggnog or mixed nuts that looked interesting, so that counts. Doesn’t it?

I listed some stuff on Freecycle this afternoon – a vacuum cleaner and two wireless routers (why I had two extra ones in the closet is a mystery) – and by tomorrow at noon they’ll all be gone. I totally love these local groups that are designed to give stuff away easily and with no strings. If you don’t know about it, check the link to see if there’s a group in your area. Perfect if you find some gems while decluttering that need a good home.

Only two more shopping days until Christmas – are you ready? All of my presents were mailed out some time ago, including sending on one that was sent to me by mistake. I figured that it was good karma to send it on to its intended destination, especially since the recipient is a nun.

Leave a Reply

