Random Thoughts of a Disordered Mind

Worried in Connecticut

7 Comments

AngelMy dad called this morning at 7:30am with a report on my mom. The wonderful news is that she didn’t die. The rest of it is that she had a second abdominal surgery last night to find and remove the source of life-threatening infection. She now has an 11-inch incision and will be in ICU at least through Christmas.

Dad left the hospital about 9pm to go home, only to have a call from the surgeon about 9:30. He had been in surgery with another patient but while he was in the OR – and while Dad was still there – they took more blood for additional tests. No one told my parents why but this is a hospital and they take blood and do tests all the time so they didn’t question it.

The original low white blood count that the doctor had wanted to talk to them about apparently signaled the possible presence of some kind of infection that sometimes appears after surgery and the additional blood work was to try and pinpoint more precisely. The doctor told my dad last night that when the results are what they turned out to be, they have no choice but to operate within hours or risk the patient not making it until the next day; the infection is that fast-moving and deadly. I think maybe it’s MRSA but Dad didn’t remember the name, just that it was bad.

I don’t have a lot of details right now but know they did not find what they expected to find when they took her in the second time. The deadly infection wasn’t there but other pockets of problems were and they scraped and cleaned up what they found. Her appendix had been “falling apart” when they removed it and possibly something had leaked out even if it hadn’t burst. But what do we know, our medical degrees are from Wikipedia and WebMD.com.

Mom is in ICU now and can have visitors four times a day for 15 minutes at a time. My brother is driving up from Houston to see her at the 12:00 slot and the nurses told my dad they’d be flexible and let them stay for 30 min if Mom could tolerate it. He will bring Christmas presents up and back; they’re the least important thing right now but we know Mom was fretting about ruining Christmas and will not be in any shape to have the family come up to visit after the holiday, so this will ease her mind when she’s awake enough to know about it.

My dad broke down on the phone with me and my heart hurts for him as well as my mom. He’s so worried that he will lose her – and we still may. My brother just called and is on his way. He promised to call me as soon as he knows something, and to ask lots of questions that I’m not there to ask myself.

Please keep my mom in your prayers. She needs them.

7 thoughts on “Worried in Connecticut

  1. I’m praying for your mom, and for your whole family. May she pull through this soon,

  2. Oh Anne, I’m so sorry to hear all of this. It could be the appendix had some sort of infection and that’s what the source of infection too.

    I’ll be thinking of you and praying and hoping for better news.

  3. I’m sure it’s hard for you to be so far away during this most stressful time. Tell your dad there are lots of strangers out here in the blogosphere praying for Mom’s recovery. I’ll send up a little prayer for comfort and peace for him and for you, as well.

  4. Pingback: Merry Christmas « Readheaded Stranger

  5. Likewise, Anne, I’m praying for your mom and all of you. Love and peace to you….Phyl

  6. My thoughts and prayers are with you and your family during this time. I know first hand how tough it is when a parent is very sick and one is so far away, so I’ll be saying special prayers for you as well. Take care. RMO

  7. Sending prayers to your mom, you and your family this evening Anne.

Leave a Reply

