Random Thoughts of a Disordered Mind

Mom’s Coming Home

4 Comments

Angel in the snowThe plan was for Mom’s incision to be stapled yesterday before they released her from the hospital. After waiting all day for the doctor and the procedure, when he finally arrived my parents learned that her skin tissue was too thin for them to be able to staple after all. Somehow I don’t think my skin would have that problem but she is 77 years old and that probably was a factor.

Instead they’re doing a different thing this morning: a vacuum closure procedure that we’re all a little iffy about. If any of you know about it, please add a comment and I’ll share with my parents. Here’s what I know:

During the V.A.C. procedure, surgeons place a sponge into the wound and cover it with an occlusive dressing. A suction device is applied and removes fluid from the wound. This procedure reduces bacteria in the wound, draws out stagnant toxins and stimulates new blood flow, decreasing the wound healing time dramatically.
Source: Wake Forest University Baptist Medical Center

The dressing has to be changed every three days for up to 2 months in her case, which brought home to us how long her recovery will actually be. The good news, though, is that she’s coming home today!

On Christmas Day her dinner was mashed potatoes, soup and jello. Yesterday it was chicken-fried steak (which I’ve never known Mom to eat but she was hungry), mashed potatoes, green beans, and pumpkin pie. I was reassured that her tummy was able to handle regular food, which will make it easier when she gets home. Of course, there is no fresh food in the house because Dad’s been eating out, mostly at the hospital. So I urged him to do a grocery run before he went to the hospital today.

My brother and sister in law are heading up again today and will stay until Monday. He has work that has to be finished by Monday but with a laptop and Internet connections, can work anywhere. They’ll help take down and store Christmas things, probably do some cooking and shopping, and mostly just visit and help with the transition. I’m very grateful that they’re able to do it, especially since we didn’t know for sure until yesterday that today was the day she was coming home.

I’m researching flights and trying to figure out when I can get there for a long weekend visit. Flying in winter is always a bit iffy but I think I’ve found some options. My next assignment is to find, interview and hire a cat sitter for Tessie. It costs the same to pay someone to come here and feed and play with her as it would to board her at the vet’s, where she would be in a cage. Staying at home is infinitely better. I’ve never had to worry about child care before and admit I’m fretting about leaving her — but being with my mom is worth it.

Thanks to all of you for your thoughts and prayers. They mean the world and I know made a difference.

4 thoughts on “Mom’s Coming Home

  1. I am so glad that things are going well/better for your family. Will a nurse come in to change dressing every 3 days – or are they teaching your dad?

    I used to cat sit – and I would stay at the house/apartment for several hours – not just pop in and out. I usually would go and watch a movie – so the cats could just pile on and feel like they were having anormal day. We have a friend whose son pet sits and he actually moves in to stay with pets. He works full time – but goes to “sitting job” after work. So there are lots of options out there.

  2. We have one of those cats that hates all humans but us, and she always did fine with a cat sitter. It is INFINITELY better to keep her at home; she’ll be freaked out because you’re away, but way less freaked out than if she were in a strange place with all those strange smells. Our kitty is usually ticked for about ten minutes when we get home, but then she’s great. Tessie will miss you, but she’ll be glad when you’re home!

  3. I’m so glad that your mom is eating solid food. (It is funny that a hospital would MAKE chicken fried steak….but that’s another issue.) I have not heard of this type of procedure that your mom had but I’m glad there’s an option.

    Tessie will be in good shape. Check around with your colleagues or put a request for recommendations on CL if you have one in your town. Tessie might sulk but she’ll be reassured to have someone checking in on her. I’ll ask my cat sitter if she knows someone in your town; stranger things have happened.

  4. Glad to hear the good news about your mom!! And good luck with finding a good kitty sitter…I am doing it now for our tenant actually and that reminds me I need to go back and check on the kitties!! 🙂 Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

