Random Thoughts of a Disordered Mind

Be It Resolved?

3 Comments

It’s All About Me

I know, I know – another post about resolutions? Well, yes and no. I don’t sit down and write out a list of things I resolve for the new year because I’ve done it so many times before and failed miserably at accomplishing any of them. And then, having failed, I managed to work myself into self-loathing and resentment that I needed to accomplish those resolutions in the first place.

Losing weight and working out more are naturally two of those failed resolutions. Been there, done that, more times than I care to count. So instead of resolving things this time, I’m looking at what I want my winning outcomes to be. Yeah, I know, WW talk. But for me, it works.

There are really two big things on my mind and heart as I go into 2008. To be healthier and to live with grace.

To be healthier is the stuff I already know about but am, for whatever reason, not doing. Living with grace includes not beating myself up for who I am and the choice I make, and also making better choices because they are the right ones. It means accepting failure without whining and success without gloating. Living with balance.

And yes, it means doing the things I know I should be doing to be healthy. To eat less and move more, without complaining or trying to find ways to cheat and be lazy.

I read on someone else’s blog today about looking back over the year, finding herself 60 lbs lighter than when the year started, and I was hit by a wave of sadness that I wasn’t the one to say that. Not jealousy, just sadness, because I haven’t done anything to deserve being 60 lbs lighter. I do have the power to do something and my fresh start begins tomorrow.

My mom came home from the hospital late today and starts the new year in her own house, much to everyone’s relief. She will have her little vacuum bag and pump with her 24/7 for the next 6-8 weeks but can get out and do things as she has energy to do them. Just being home is big medicine and I’ll see her for myself next week. Good for all of us.

I have my food planned out for tomorrow and activities lined up to keep me out of trouble. Though if I wake up to snow … ah, well. It’s winter and some things just come with the territory.

May your new year get off to a happy, healthy start.

3 thoughts on “Be It Resolved?

  1. One day at a time is a good resolution. 🙂

    Happy to hear your mom is home…may the New Year bring happiness, peace and fun to you and yours!

  2. I don’t know about the word deserve. I understand the part about taking ownership of your own solution and ownership of your life. I just am not sure if the word deserve is accurate. Sometimes we work hard and follow whatever program to the T and still not have a loss. And other times, we do some things right and others not so right and have a loss. It’s a strange thing. But taking ownership, one day at a time is a great thing to do. It also goes hand in hand with living with grace.

    I’m so glad your mom is home and I know she must so happy to be home. I’m just sorry that she missed Christmas and New Year’s.

  3. “To be healthier and to live with grace.”

    I think those are great life long commitments. I would love to find that balance.

    I am glad to read your mother is back home. I wish you a happy new year Anne.

Leave a Reply

