Random Thoughts of a Disordered Mind

Sleep Deprived in Connecticut

3 Comments

Yawning TigerIt took me over an hour to fall asleep last night, which is unusual these days since I have my meds and my CPAP. Tossing and turning and getting warmer in my cozy flannel sheets with a cat anchoring the bottom spot. I got tangled up in the CPAP hose and almost strangled myself, which didn’t make sleeping any better. Then at 3am my left foot clenched in a hard cramp right around the arch. And again. And again.

That was the end of sleeping. I kept hoping that I could work out the cramp with massage or by stretching the foot or walking around – which of course Tessie thought was all about giving her breakfast at 4am. Uh, no. We did have some tummy time in the dark quiet of the wee hours but my left foot was moving all the time.

This was not a good way to start a work week but I think I was productive, though not necessarily with the things on my “to do” list, since problems come when they come. I’m working with one of the IT folks to create a cancellations database to use to provide better number crunching and tracking on what seems to be my biggest project. But there were new editions and problems from other staff to be looked at before I basically am unavailable at noon tomorrow (meetings all afternoon, then a retreat on Wed., then leaving on Thurs.).

My usual WW meeting is Wednesday night but I don’t think I’m going to be able to make it, though maybe if the retreat is cut short I can. Depending on the logistics of a bus to get to the car, plus adding rain — blech. Besides, I’m going to need to come home and pack and try to crash early so I can wake up at the ridiculous time to leave for the airport. So I’m going to try and get to a WW meeting tomorrow, which is scheduled later than the one I usually get to. I know it will be insanely crowded and hope that I’ve stayed the same.

No matter what, though, I’m going to a meeting because that’s what I do. No putting it off because I am afraid of the scale or have too many other things to do. This is why there are lots of meetings on different days at different times. If your regular one doesn’t work, find another. Once you’ve weighed, find yet another if you need the pep talk and help getting back on track.

Time for bed. Wish me luck.

3 thoughts on “Sleep Deprived in Connecticut

  1. I’m really glad you didn’t strangle yourself! It’s hard to get all of the things you need to in order to go on a trip. I hope you got more sleep today and you can get yourself asleep Wednesday. If I don’t talk to you, have a safe and wonderful trip with your parents.

  2. I am back into a grove of trouble sleeping also – my husband has not been sleeping well since his mother’s diagnosis. He left for a week with her and I thought FINAALY – uninterrupted sleep – that very night the youngest was up with the stomach flu all night. Now I am running through a spell of unpleasant dreams – nothing terrible – studying American Revolution with the middle child and keep having contemporary dreams of that sort of thing. It seems if it isn’t one thing – it’s another. If I don’t talk to you before – have a safe trip and give your mom extra hugs from all of us.

  3. Hope you are sleeping better. Tossing and turning just plain bites.

Leave a Reply

