Random Thoughts of a Disordered Mind

Staying Home Is Not an Option – Vote!

1 Comment

February 05 - Super TuesdaySuper Tuesday – thank God we’re moving on from the Super Bowl and back to the craziness that is American politics.

Connecticut is one of the 20 or so states participating in this humongous multi-state primary tomorrow and for reasons that escape me, the candidates seem to actually be paying attention to us. This is unique for me since usually they just skipped trips to Massachusetts. Hillary was in New Haven this morning and Hartford last week; Barack was in Hartford today. I’m not trying to keep up with the Republicans because, frankly, I don’t care. It’s not my party so I don’t have to worry about which of them to vote for.

I do, however, have to decide between Hillary and Barack. There are things I like about each and things that make me squirrely. Mostly I’m thrilled that we have two strong and viable candidates that break the mold from the past, and I know that one of them will be the nominee of my party.

I admit that I’m one of the people who really liked President Bill Clinton, Monica-gate and all (I thought it was a pretty stupid way for us to spend so much time, energy, and money). I’m not sure how he would do as a First Husband and I’m not sure I like the idea of “two for one” this time any more than the last. And I’m really not sure that I want 4 Bush years + 8 Clinton years + 8 Bush years + more Clinton years. That’s too many years with the same two families. We deserve better.

What we really need is for people to get out and vote tomorrow. Don’t stay home and say it doesn’t matter. If you live in one of the Super Duper Tuesday states (and you will know if you do because of the onslaught of political ads you’ve been living with), you need to go vote. Staying home because you don’t like your choice of candidates is cop out. You owe it to yourself, your family, your country, to pick one and vote.

One thought on “Staying Home Is Not an Option – Vote!

  1. Great post, Anne!! I feel the same way you do about voting and I almost never miss the chance. BUT I had to DRAG myself out yesterday because I truly could not decide between Hillary and Barack. Things about both of them bother me. But both are FAR better than what we’ve got now. I didn’t decide who to vote for until about an hour and a half before the polls closed yesterday…but I decided and, while I’m not as excited as a lot of people are about these choicse, I am excited to vote and to get rid of the idiots that are in there now. So there. 😉

Leave a Reply

