Random Thoughts of a Disordered Mind

Learning to Like Brussels Sprouts

4 Comments

Bowl of Brussels SproutsI’m still working my way through In Defense of Food. I have to say that reading it during a lunch period makes me hyper-aware of what I’m eating while people see me with the book on the table.

As a result of what I’m reading, and after reading Lori‘s comments on her blog about her consultations with the nutritionist, I decided that it would be good for me to start eating more organic food and things with ingredients I can pronounce. I won’t pretend that my pantry’s been transformed but I did make a concerted effort to shop using those principles last weekend on my grocery runs.

I’ve been pining for Whole Foods and Trader Joe’s, both of which I visited frequently when I lived in Boston. But pining for them doesn’t make them magically appear on the roads I travel so I decided I needed to branch out and I did some web research to find some options. My first stop was at Edge of the Woods, a new (to me) natural foods store. It was a good sign to see a bustling parking lot and once inside the store, I actually ran into a colleague from work who affirmed my shopping choice.

I stocked up on whole wheat couscous, polenta, a few flavors of Larabars (the cherry ones are to die for), some boxes of organic butternut squash soup, and lots of organic produce. Most shocking to me was adding Brussels sprouts to the cart – I’ve never in my life bought one and have only eaten them once! They are really cute, like little cabbages, and since friends have enjoyed them for years, I decided to try them because, well, why not?

Since roasted vegetables are a staple of my foodplan, I decided to roast these little green things, too. I cut off the bottoms and peeled away the outer leaves, then cut them in half lengthwise and tossed in a bowl with drizzles of olive oil and balsamic vinegar, salt and pepper, and then just baked at 400 for 40 min., giving them a little turn in the middle. They turned out very nutty and tasty and I ate the entire bowl of them with a sprinkle of Parmesan cheese.

I’ve managed to string together a whole week of planning and eating balanced food, and I’m down 2.4 lbs without even being very hungry. I’m paying attention to what I eat instead of just reaching for whatever’s handy and it makes a difference. Gee, who knew?

4 thoughts on “Learning to Like Brussels Sprouts

  1. Now, if you could persuade ME to eat brussel sprouts, you could then win the Nobel Prize. I have heard that they taste much better roasted.

    I have some recipes for roasted broccoli with some low fat “dressings” to put on top of it that I got from Cooking Light.

    Good job, Anne!

  2. I roast my brussel sprouts too with a little olive oil but have never tried balsamic vinegar. Sounds delish.

    Isn’t it crazy how expensive it is to eat healthy?! I have been stocking up on organic soups also and I just love paying $2.00 more per can.

    You sound like you are on the right path to healthy eating and getting away from the pesticides, etc.

  3. Congratulations on the 2+ pounds gone! I love love LOVE Brussels sprouts…am I the only one? I just put them in the micro (bag from TJs) and voila! YUMMMY.

  4. I adore brussels sprouts, and roasting them is my favorite way to eat them. I’m so glad you discovered you’re also a fan! (And they’re in season now, too—great! Have you tried looking at Local Harvest (localharvest.org) to see if you have a CSA that delivers to near where you live or work? You can get local and organic foods that way. :D)

Leave a Reply

