Random Thoughts of a Disordered Mind

I Want to Eat Everything

8 Comments

Emotional eatingLast week I quietly strung together almost seven days of eating carefully and relatively easily within my food plan. This week it’s very different. I want to eat everything in sight unless it is a vegetable or fruit. So I guess it’s not everything I want, it’s specific tastes. My basic comfort food pyramid of salt, sugar, and carbs.

I want to crunch things but not baby carrots because they are healthy. Potato chips or soy crisps or popcorn work because they are salty and meltingly crunchy instead of crispy crunchy, the way an apple or those stupid little carrots taste.

I want chocolate, good chocolate or crummy chocolate as long as it’s sweet and rich and creamy tasting. Okay, really crummy chocolate isn’t going to do it for me right now. I want good stuff and since Valentine’s Day is just days away, there is and will be chocolate everywhere within hand’s reach – and later this week it will be on sale for 50-75% off. Uh oh, now that’s scary.

But then there is the lure of bread. Ahh, I love bread. It is my ultimate comfort food, which is why I can’t buy loaves of it to have in the house because I’ll sit and eat it mindlessly, slice after slice. Potato rolls I seem to be able to more or less manage – but a friend mentioned breadmakers the other day and my mind has gone off into scary tangents of justification. No, no, I can’t go there.

So I sit here with a stomach ache from eating too much of all the wrong things today. Fritos in the morning when I wasn’t even hungry, just wanting something with crunch and salt. Small meatball sub at lunch with extra marinara sauce. Little vanilla creme sandwich cookies – 2 packs of them, for no particular reason except they are addictive and were there when I was feeling squirrely. Mrs. Prindables chocolate covered caramels that were supposed to go to the office. Ha ha ha.

I managed to eat a balanced breakfast and a reasonable salad with layers and flavors and – blech – vegetables. I drank lots of water. But somehow that got overwhelmed by the other stuff. I knew what I was doing and did it anyway.

So what’s going on? I’m squirrely. I hate being cold with my toes turning into little ice cubes. I hate the gray and drear and sameness of the days. I’m tired of it being dark so early, even though it’s better than it was. I want long weekends when I can get out and explore and take pictures without taking off my insulated gloves and freezing my fingers.

I want to not have to worry that tomorrow is my weigh in day and it’s not going to be pretty. I’ll go anyway, but I don’t want to. I’m tired of doing a daily (private) inventory and have been blowing it off instead of doing it because it feels like work now and not a helpful tool.

I want a change. I want to be warm. I want to be planning a great vacation without having to worry about money. I want to be satisfied with healthy foods and not just the things that all the experts tell me will kill me. I want to not have the attitude that I’m going to die of something anyway so why not enjoy myself while I go. I want my tummy to stop hurting.

I want to feel better about myself. Maybe tomorrow I will.

8 thoughts on “I Want to Eat Everything

  1. Sounds like you need a vacation in California…did I mention we have a nice guest room less than a block from the beach? πŸ™‚ But we do eat veggies here…most days. πŸ™‚

  2. if someone could figure out how to do good, crunchy GUM – they would make a fortune – don’t you think?

    hugs.

  3. Some days I want to strangle Helen. Not really, it is just jealousy talking. I want a change too. I am tired of the endless weight fight. I think I am going to go on a diet. No foolin. Take care.

  4. I feel exactly the same. 100%. Plus, I’m home from work sick with bronchitis and a sinus infection. This has been a long, cold, dark winter and I’m sick of it. As far as food, nothing does it for me except for junk food. I can’t get my taste buds excited about healthy foods. Plus a Reeces is always good, whereas you’re taking chances with a piece of fruit. I am going to try the roasted brusell sprouts when I get well. Thanks for the blog. It’s great.

  5. It’s hard and winter is boring. It’s a pain to get into work, a pain to get to any place really. So I can understand.

    I believe the expression, a long hard slough would be applicable for many of us this time of year. How about if we just show up at Helen’s house and stop by and pick up Beula?

  6. Oof. I hate winter and I’ve been down too. Maybe it’s going around, like the flu. Hope that we’re all feeling more cheerful soon.

  7. You wrote exactly how I have felt for the last 10 days.

  8. I think this has been the toughest winter in several years for a lot of people. I am never so grateful as when March finally rolls around, because it’s at least a hope that everything will pick up and be refreshed.

    I had never had a bread craving before, but yesterday at the grocery store I bumped a loaf of freshly baked challah off its little challah pedestal and when I picked it up I could put it back down. It was like a warm, braided, pillowy baby I would’ve happily gone to womens’ prison for so I could abduct it and just squeeze it in my hands for a couple hours. I took it home and ate half the loaf before I realized I seriously wasn’t into bread.

    This winter stuff is just weird, I swear.

Leave a Reply

