Random Thoughts of a Disordered Mind

How Did That Scone Get Into My Kitchen?

1 Comment

Snowy View From my WindowThere are blueberry scones in the kitchen. I don’t know how they got there, although obviously I picked them up myself and put them in the shopping cart and then unloaded them in the kitchen.

It was that, “there’s a storm coming and we need to buy weird things because we don’t know when we will dig ourselves out to shop again and hey, we might need it,” kinda thing. The rest of my cart was pretty normal and explainable: yogurt, apples, potato rolls, butternut squash soup, ground turkey, Diet Coke with lime, Edy’s Loaded light ice cream … and those scones.

New England redefined winter storms for the modern age with the Blizzard of ’78 when people were stranded in their homes for a week, roads closed down, offices shuttered, and those bread and milk supplies ran out early. Now we make sure that doesn’t happen again by stopping at the grocery store on the way home from work the day before the Bad Stuff comes.

We see each other pushing carts around the store, grabbing things from shelves that combine holiday treats with Super Bowl snacks and comfort food basics. It’s as though we will never have a chance to get to the store again so we want to load up now. In reality, of course, the roads will be clear in a day and cars dug out enough to make another trip to food heaven before make a dent in the stuff we got “just in case.”

Today it’s snowing and I skipped work, as did most of my colleagues, to sit home and watch daytime TV and the snow fall gently and steadily. Staying off the roads, even in a moderate snow, allows the road crews time to clean up well, which makes it easier for us to get out and about later.

And what’s the hardship in staying home with my kitty? I’m working my way through the second season of West Wing on DVD – and nibbling on a blueberry scone. Hope your day is relaxed and comfortable.

One thought on “How Did That Scone Get Into My Kitchen?

  1. Oh see, here if there’s even the possibility of SNOW in our area, people go berserk and have carts overflowing with snacks, junk food, sides of beef, toilet paper, boxes of cereal and cartons of milk. It’s a mentality that’s hard to avoid even as I know it’s crazy — I will not starve to death in 3 days.

    (And my mother asked me the other day if I had any food in the house in case I got stuck in a potential ice storm….and if the Guy had food in his house too. I had to ask her, “How dumb do you think I am?”)

    My necessities for a storm really have been contact lens solution, TP, and maybe something sweet. I have been known to go out in a blizzard for the first two and grab the third while I’m there.

    I thought for sure I’d get to stay home today in the snow or ice but we didn’t get it. It sounds like you had a wonderful day with Miss Tessie. 🙂 You deserve it!

Leave a Reply

