Random Thoughts of a Disordered Mind

Easter candy overdose

3 Comments

Easter candyIs Easter over yet? No? Can we just fast forward a week …. wait, no, then we would have all the leftover candy on sale for 50% off. That would be worse.

At work today there were bowls of foiled covered eggs and caramel kisses but I wanted something else. And on the way home I stopped and picked up a small (thank god) bag of malted milk eggs covered first in chocolate and than that delectable candy coating that is so sweet that it will rot your teeth. And I’ve eaten more than half the bag.

Fortunately I’ve stopped. They’re not that good and I’ve gotten my craving satisfied. I confess that there is also a bag of Starburst jellybeans in my “go to the office” bag. Do I need them? No. Will I eat them all? No. Will I enjoy them? Yeah, maybe. At first, anyway.

The thing is, the first bite is the best taste. It doesn’t get better as I keep eating them. So having five jellybeans, while somewhat inconceivable, would give me the bright burst of flavor (and sugar). I don’t have to eat the entire bag to get that. And I bet that if I put the rest in a little bowl out in a public area, others will eat them and I won’t be tempted.

Easter isn’t about jellybeans or chocolate bunnies or plastic grass stuffed into little baskets or dyed eggs or pastel colored stuffed animals. It’s about the resurrection of Christ, and all that other stuff is just decoration.

3 thoughts on “Easter candy overdose

  1. Don’t know where – but somewhere I read where they had women eat just ONE of things that are often compulsive. The only example I can remember is Hersey’s Kiss – ONE Hersey’s kiss and the women all said it tasted slightly waxy and not really good. when the same women had eaten one right after the other and eaten many, many – they never actually tasted them.

  2. I read that too! I think it was Geneen Roth in O Magazine. She was a compulsive eater who has beaten the odds by cultivating mindful eating. She’s written several books, and is a good read.

    I tried a couple of her exercises. Some involved holding a single dark chocolate in your mouth. Or eating just 10 M&M’s very, very slowly. Another exercise involved the types of foods we typically “machine gun” like potato chips, pretzels, or peanuts. It involved allowing each chip to practically disintegrate on the tongue before chewing. Kind of icky, and takes all the “fun” out of the binge. (Salty, crunchy, chewy)

  3. When dealing with a “craving” which is an emotional issue one of the best tools I have found is EFT. By doing this simple exercise the craving simply goes away.

    Those M&M smell like wax paper instead of mouthwatering chocolate, and Fritos smell a bit like rancid oil. Weird, but I have used it and seen it with many people in seminars.

    It does not get rid of the underlying emotions – that is a different issue, but it sure does work great for walking away from the chocolate eggs – even throwing them away anxiety free.

Leave a Reply

