Random Thoughts of a Disordered Mind

Is My Eating a Sugar Addiction?

3 Comments

Sugar bagBeula asked, “Do you think you are a sugar addict? If so what does that mean to you? I am also watching Paul McKenna and am currently so mixed up about my eating I could spit.”

I’ve been reading people’s responses to this question as you’ve asked it on a couple of blogs and it’s interesting. I’ve never thought much about sugar addiction other than to think it sounded enormously extreme. It was more that I had a food addiction. It didn’t matter whether the food was sweet or sugary. I like salty and spices and tart and cool, crunch and creamy, hot and cold. I like food.

The foodplan I’ve followed most of my weight watching life doesn’t target specific foods to give up. It’s been more about what foods to include instead. And that felt right to me. By doing that while also journaling and recording what I actually ate, I could see patterns in eating certain foods. Some were things I couldn’t control at all, and some of those had sugar – no one would ever accuse me of overdosing on celery.

But I also learned that there are food groups other than sweet, salty, fried and au gratin. Things I used to binge on routinely can now only be eaten in small doses because I get heartburn and physical discomfort. I’ve learned to listen to my body, not just words on a page or lectures from an expert.

It takes a long time to learn to listen when most of our lives we’ve been shutting up the pain and hurt and confusion and loneliness with food. We want instant success, instant answers, and jump down our own throats when we don’t get the fast weight loss we want – so then we eat more because we’re upset.

Part of what’s going on for me may be a denial of a sugar addiction. I read blogs of people who eat clean, healthy, nutritious food and think it sounds boring. But too much junk food can lead to more junk and an imbalance. I guess for me I don’t really feel the need to eliminate sugar completely if I can find a way to get things in balance.

It’s a hard line to walk and I’ve certainly failed more times than I’ve succeeded with it. But I’m learning and moving in a spiral, I think, not just around and around the hamster wheel. Having spent so many years eating badly, it’s hard to know what balanced eating is.

I’m finding Paul McKenna’s programs to be interesting and with nuggets of wisdom. I like that it’s a short series and not a single program because the repetition of ideas and tools helps reinforce them and their effectiveness. Simplistic? Sure. But sometimes simple is a good thing. We load so much stuff onto diets and eating and spend so much time examining our navels that we don’t just live and take small steps and see what happens.

3 thoughts on “Is My Eating a Sugar Addiction?

  1. I think getting too many sweets as an undesirable effect yet one that I don’t mind feeling, at least on me. For instance I rarely eat sweets (salty carbs are my drug of choice) but on Christmas Eve I made fudge and peanut butter fudge – the kind with lots of sugar and condensed milk (liquid sugar milk). I was miserable, gassy yet had to keep having just “one more piece”. Crazy. It had a heroin effect on me.

  2. Have you tried picturing the sweets you love with hair from a barber shop floor? Or the contents of a spitoon? Haha, he always uses those examples of something gross. It’s funny. But genious.

  3. Im having a sugar hangover today. It doesnt talke much these days. I was so upset with my husband lastnight, and instead of getting the full blown Girlscout cookies out of the garage fridge, I settled for two of the individual packs (100 cal each). Anyway, I dont know if I feel lousey from the cookies, or from being angry with my husband – probably both.

Leave a Reply

