Random Thoughts of a Disordered Mind

Sunday Afternoon in the Pool

3 Comments

Don’t drop dead of shock, but I went to the gym this afternoon and did 30 minutes of water aerobics in the pool. By myself. Without anyone holding a gun to my head or bribing me with brownies for going. I have to confess that it felt good to be moving, and safe in the water. Safe for my joints and safe from too many prying eyes, although there were some swimmers who looked askance at someone waving a noodle and water weights.

Why did I decide to go after 6 months of assiduously avoiding the place? Probably because the weather has changed and it’s time to pull out summer clothes, and most of what I have either doesn’t fit well or fits but I hate it. I’ve had a hard time finding clothes to fit in stores so spent a chunk of time last night ordering online from sites with better track records of larger sizes. Of course, that means being prepared that a good chunk of what’s ordered isn’t going to work out, so I usually buy extra so I have more choices.

Along the way it occurred to me that an alternative to being annoyed is to actually do something about my body shape to make it easier to find clothes. Not specifically to lose weight, more about the inches and where they are currently padded. Losing weight will probably be a by-product but my real goal is to make sure I can shop for and find clothes I like better.

I think maybe I’m going to look for a second bathing suit.

3 thoughts on “Sunday Afternoon in the Pool

  1. I was just thinking the same thing about the weather and the pool. It is such a mental thing – to think about getting in the water when it is cold outside. Intellectually I can tell myself that the WATER is always the same temp, but it sure doesn’t feel the same when it is cold outside.

  2. It sounds like you had fun and felt good — hooray! Ideally, that’s what exercise would always be about.

Leave a Reply

