Random Thoughts of a Disordered Mind

4 Handed Massage

3 Comments

MassageYou all know that I am a big fan of massage and get them regularly. What I had today was a 4-handed massage – no, not from a Hindu deity with multiple arms. Instead, it was a double massage with two therapists working on me at the same time for an hour. Oh. My. God. it was the most amazing experience ever, even beating my beloved hot stone massage.

For a massage to work best, all the muscles need to be totally relaxed and it’s always a bit of an adjustment to having strangers touch your naked body. I’ve been to both of the massage therapists before and was familiar with the space, so that helped. That familiar New Agey Celtic music was playing softly and there was the sound of water.

Having four hands work on me at the same time relaxed not only my body but also my mind. There was good energy between the therapists and it was almost like a little ballet as they moved in tandem around me, working on arms and feet and back and neck. it was too much for the mind to keep track of it all so I just let go and felt and enjoyed and was totally present in my body.

It turns out that I was the very first client to get this new treatment, which the center just started offering 2 weeks ago. I’ll definitely be back.

3 thoughts on “4 Handed Massage

  1. very interesting. Is it double the fee too? I can see that it would be too much to “mind track” and that one would let go (or have an anxiety attack I suppose). Did they work on the same areas or exact opposites (like hands and feet, legs and arms)?

  2. The fee was a lot more than the regular massage but not as much as double. Plus I had a 10% off coupon 🙂 They worked on exact opposite areas — one started on my right side of the back while the other worked on my left leg, then they moved to left back/right leg — and then they switched. Each of them worked the full body and my muscles loved the extra time.

  3. Sounds wonderful, and I’m glad to hear that you’re taking such good care of yourself! 🙂

Leave a Reply

