Random Thoughts of a Disordered Mind

Indiana Jones and the mundane

2 Comments

The first five minutes of Raiders of the Lost Ark are among the best on film. They set the framework for the story and define the character, and along the way, let you know it’s time to buckle up the seatbelt and just go for a fun ride. Raiders is on TV even as I type, playing in a marathon on the USA network. Tho for some weird reason they showed them backwards.

Since the new Indiana Jones movie opens next weekend, I’m sure this is to get us back into Indy’s world and caught up in his adventures so we’re ready to jump on after 19 years. Can you believe it’s been that long?? Makes me feel old when I realize that the kids on campus weren’t even born when the first movie came out. I’m going to a special law school event showing of the movie, complete with popcorn, since some of it was filmed in our building and it will be fun to see how the local stuff got changed around.

It’s been a pretty quiet day with normal errands such as laundry, grocery shopping, trip to the pharmacy, and cleaning. I despise doing it and usually spend more time procrastinating than actually cleaning. But seeing how much cat fur I picked up was eye opening — and I brush Tessie twice a day and the house is still loaded! I have to keep this under better control with more frequent vacuuming but somehow I’m not sure my brain will get that done. Sometimes I don’t even remember what day it is.

Having gotten all of this good stuff done today, tomorrow I can go out to play. The plan is to get to Indian Well State Park, armed with my trusty camera and maybe a picnic lunch – assuming I don’t get lost. There are hiking trails, not that I’m so good at hiking but surely we can walk too, no? And a beach, though it’s too early (and too cold and too public) to get in a bathing suit. I’m really going to be outdoors, see the waterfall and walk around and take pictures. Should be fun, and it will get me out of the house.

2 thoughts on “Indiana Jones and the mundane

  1. Pingback: hiking trails

  2. I waited 19 years but not in vain:

    Nice photo, nice actors & actresses, nice ambiance, nice historical description (Cold War + Mc Carthy) but story wasn’t as good as expected. 80% satisfied.

    You should spend quite a good time watching it!

    B.

Leave a Reply

