Random Thoughts of a Disordered Mind

Not Too Early to Think About Christmas

5 Comments

Well, okay, maybe not LOOK like it. But I”m getting ready — last night I booked my plane reservations to visit the family in Texas for Christmas. I didn’t go at all last year, being new on the job and not able take time off so early.

Airline travel is already spiraling into craziness and higher prices for less service, with expectations of cut schedules and every increasing costs as the weeks pass. I knew that it wasn’t going to get better by Christmas and vividly recall all the news stories from last year of people stranded in airports because of flight delays. With fewer, more crowded flights, that would present a big problem at the holidays.

So I went ahead and booked my flights on the only nonstop flight from Hartford to Houston. I told my brother that I’m going to put a bow on my head and say, voila! I am your present! Somehow I don’t think that will fly with the nieces and nephews but it’s a thought. Now I just need to hope the airlines don’t mess up the schedule, though that seems unlikely. Keep your fingers crossed.

5 thoughts on “Not Too Early to Think About Christmas

  1. how many nieces and nephews are there???

    your xmas pic is too cute. How did you get in a picture all by yourself (no sibs)???

    my kids LOVE to have their pictures taken. I hated it as a child (why I am not sure) but it doesn’t bother me now.

  2. I have two nieces and two nephews in boy boy girl girl order. The oldest boy graduated from college last year. The next boy graduates in December – he had an extra semester because he got a football scholarship in his first year, which extended his time. The oldest girl graduates next May, and the youngest will be a sophomore next year. Phew, glad they’re my brother’s children and not mine with so many in college at the same time!

  3. I’m new to blogging and found you through another site. You and I are close to the same age, yes, I am older but not by much. I have a lot of weight to lose and have been going to Weight Watchers for over a year. I’m doing o.k. but thought that it would help me to communicate with others that understand. I’ll be checking back. I couldn’t help but laugh about your neices and nephews. I can relate.

  4. JC I’m here for you along with anne, and everyone else.
    I don’t know why this is such a difficult battle, especially when we are acutally supposed to be smarter and wiser in our old age. I dont know about you, but my pattern is that I have a wonderful revelation, my eating is great for about a week, then the revelation begins to fade, then Im back to where I started. Im sick of this, and so ashamed that I;m still like this at my age (56). When does the wisdom kick in? I’m 25 pounds overweight which is a lot for a 4’10’ woman. I guess that what bothers me more than the weight, is the fact that I could be so disrespectful to myself, as though food means more to me than I do. I happen to love myself very much, but when it comes to food, that seems to win out over me. How can I let this happen? i just dont understand.

    I realize that the buck stops here. There is nobody who can understand me, or motivate me, or take the blame for me. It’s I, me, and myself, that’s it. I have to fight my own battles, and provide my own rewards, I have to be the one who decides what I want for myself. If I don’t eat right, or eat too much, or blow my healthy program, I don’t have my mommy there, saying “it’s ok, you can start over tomorrow, as though what I’ve done didn’t count. I can say that to myself, but I know it isn’t true. I hate being so childish and neglectful. But you know it’s funny, because a part of me blows my diet because I think that it’s a part of being fun and carefree. Yes that’s it, carefree, instead of being a rigid old prune. I guess also, that I don’t have much faith in my decisions. I feel like I make a lot of hasty, uniformed, shortsighted decisions, and not just about weight related issues. Reading back on this, I’m seeing a picture of a very immature woman, who relies on other adults to lead the way. Well, that pretty much sums it up. I sure don’t like what I see, and I think that I need to start building some back bone.

    I’ll let you know how it ‘s going!

  5. I’m so amazed to see the thousands of people around the world, scrolling the blogs for weight loss encouragement. This certainly isn’t a solitary passtime. What is going on here? I was at a picnic the other day, and most of the people there were overweight, (including me, of course). Is overweight becomming the new norm? Do you remember when everyone smoked, and THAT was normal? Now we’ve quit smoking, and we’ve become a fat, non smoking society. MMMM?

Leave a Reply

