Random Thoughts of a Disordered Mind

What the Doctor Said

4 Comments

I meant to write this last night but was so tired I could hardly keep my eyes open, so I opted for spending time offline with the kitty and an early bedtime.  Both were needed.

Yesterday I had my appointment with my primary care doctor to talk about WLS.  But naturally, since it had been five months since my physical, I trotted out a few other things.  Of course the visit started with taking vital signs and getting my current weight.  I hate this part but at least I knew it was coming, and I told the nurse that I didn’t want to get on the scale, partly because I’d just finished lunch.  She looked balky so I offered to give her the figure from my Sunday morning WW weigh in.  After all, I told myself, this visit was to talk about weight issues so it didn’t make sense to refuse.

The good news is that the doctor doesn’t see me as a surgical riskfor WLS should I decide to go that route.  My next step is to go to an open support group meeting for patients at different stages of the process, to ask questions about how their process worked.  What they eat, how hard it was to transition, did they have/were they planning to have plastic surgery.  What was hardest, what worked, what didn’t.  These sessions are only held once a month and I need to figure out where to go in the hospital, which is a place I’ve never gone to before so there’s a good chance I’ll get lost.

I need to show commitment to a weight loss program with accountability, such as WW which weighs me in and records it every week.  Why?  To show that I can stick with eating less and being okay with it.  Since my checkered WW history includes major loss and slow but steady gain, I need to get a grip here. But I need to anyway, not just because of the possibility of WLS.

Bottom line is that when I’m ready to get in touch with the surgeon’s office to inquire about next steps and to talk with him about ME and not just generalities, I’m to let my primary care doctor know and she will send a formal referral.  Counseling and the psych eval have been done by an outfit associated with the university, but it apparently closed this summer so the doctor didn’t know who/how it would be handled in the future.  The surgeon’s office would be able to give me that info.  I’m not going to pursue it right now.

We also talked about my hand problems.  It’s possible that the carpal tunnel has recalcified, especially given how much I use my right hand with the computer.  I’m to get one of those little splints and use it for a while, and to consider getting a modified mouse that’s more ergonomically designed to ease the stress on the mousing finger.  It doesn’t help that I have arthritis in the hands, making them sore in bad weather (such as we have today, by a remarkable coincidence).

My friend P also reminded me that about 2 years ago I had somewhat similar problems that ended up in a saga involving a cervical collar, nerve tests, and multiple MRI’s.  They finally found a herniated C6 disk – but on the other side, which didn’t explain the symptoms on the right side.  Eventually it went away without anyone figuring what was wrong other than “probably a pinched nerve somewhere.”  Sometimes medicine is so exact.

I also walked out with a wicked expensive prescription for a 3-month supply of meds to help control restless leg syndrome, which is part of what’s been keeping me up at night.  I had a 10 day sample pack from the sleep doc and it did make a difference, so now I have a real prescription.  The new fiscal year is only 5 weeks old and I’ve already met my deductible for meds.  It adds up fast.

So that’s my story.  Lots of angst and stress for what turned out to be a routine information gathering visit.

4 thoughts on “What the Doctor Said

  1. Glad the visit went so well. Sounds like you got all the answers you were looking for. Hope the mouse modifications/splint help with the carpal tunnel so you don’t have to get yet another surgery.

  2. The part of this post I liked best was about the probability of getting lost in the hospital when you go to a WLS support group. This is SO classic! It’s the kind of fear that prevents me from going to new movie theaters, new stores, new meetings. Is it the “new” or the foolishness of maybe having to ask that’s at the root?

  3. I didn’t know that you were dealing with restless leg thing. Do you feel that when “it rains it pours?” We are all getting to that age where it seems like it is just one thing after another.

    I did sleep in a brace for a while and it did help – I was “cocking” my wrist in my sleep and that was compounding what I did during the day. When the ‘cocking” stopped – the pain went away (for me). I can imagine how much your wrists are involved in your job.

  4. And I too would be worried about getting lost – funny how our minds work. I think that it is part of the “new” but (for me) it is also somewhere “put my mind” so I don’t have to think about the big picture. . .

Leave a Reply

