Random Thoughts of a Disordered Mind

Conventional thinking

3 Comments

I’ve been half-heartedly watching the Democratic National Convention this week, realizing after a long conversation with my brother that I don’t really know as much about the issues as I think I should.  I just know I can’t possibly vote for McCain and hold my head up, even if the rest of the family will outvote me by 8-1.

Something the DNC can’t do is please everyone because it’s a live event and we are in multiple time zones across the country.  A stirring speech timed to it the EDT states during prime time will result in most of California being out at dinner and missing it completely.  Schedule something perfectly for California and I’m in bed before it even starts.  Well, okay, I do go to bed early. But you get my drift.

So I missed Michelle Obama’s big speech on Monday – while watching the tribute to Teddy and his response.  He was my senator for 17 years and I have a soft spot for the man completely unrelated to Camelot and the tragic deaths of his brothers.  When he stopped, I hit the sack.  Tuesday night I missed everything, being engrossed in a book (what a shocker, right?) but also knowing that HIllary would be on past my bedtime and news channels would show her ad nauseum anyway.  Last night I watched Bill Clinton and skipped Joe Biden – but I also was home to watch Hillary move to vote for Barack by acclamation.  So that was good, though I wasn’t jumping up and down.

Everything is so incredibly scripted and generally boring.  I know, it’s unpatriotic of me to even suggest that.  But by the gods, we have been working up to these conventions for 18 months.  I’m sick of the candidates and sick of the teeny sound bites and sick of the media.  And next week the Republicans do the same thing over again and I will be sick of that, too.

I’ll say this, though:  I loved Bill Clinton’s speech.  He’s seriously flawed but really, all of us are, and I just like him.  I’d vote for him again if I was allowed to.  The one I’d most like to vote for is Jed Bartlet who served on West Wing for many years.   Unfortunately he’s not on the ballot.  So I guess I’ll put up with the nonsense and see if I can find some answers, even though I already I know who I’m voting for.  Let’s just get on with it.

3 thoughts on “Conventional thinking

  1. driving back from picking up the oldest yesterday – listening to NPR – I immediately thought of you – grade school classes (4th grade I think) were following the election process by having their favorite books run for president. they were forming their political parties to support their books, and then moving on through each step of the process. Some books had as few as 4 supporters and others had dozens. it was a very creative idea!

  2. Oh God but I wish I could vote for Bartlet, or Santos, even…sigh, The West Wing taught me all I know and I imagine all I’d ever need to know about politics.

  3. Cara, I know exactly what you mean! Back when West Wing was on, there were substantive discussions about the issue of the week, not about sound bites or party platform or electibility. I can’t remember when I had a conversation about issues like that during this insanely long process now.

Leave a Reply

