Random Thoughts of a Disordered Mind

Liberal and Proud of It

4 Comments

For the past 20 years, I’ve lived in liberal New England states and have been very much at home.  My family lives in Texas and I’m sure they wonder what happened that I turned out so wrong.  They are evangelical Christians who go to Bible study and church every Sunday.  I believe in God but don’t go to church.  They are pro-life; I am pro-choice.  

They shoot guns when given a chance and eat what they hunt.  I hunt in the grocery store.  I recycle; my mother says that I wash my garbage.  They drive big trucks and SUV’s while I drive a little Saturn and pine for a Toyota Prius.  They are uncomfortable when gay and lesbian issues are raised.  I celebrated with my gay friends who were finally allowed to marry in MA a few years ago.  I oppose the war in Iraq; they support the president.

And I am a Democrat while all 8 of them are Texas Republicans.  They couldn’t vote for a Democrat if the fate of the free world depended on it (which it might).  My stomach churns at the idea of voting for a Republican, especially this year.

I didn’t vote for Hillary in the primary but I was happy that she ran and did so well, even while I was nervous about how she would handle things going into the convention.  I would have no problem voting for a qualified woman and think it’s about time we have some ready to run for national office.

But Sarah Palin just baffles me – even as she delights my family.  This gun-shooting, moose-eating, pro-family, Christian governor doesn’t match any of what I look for in a national candidate, especially as the VP candidate running with someone who would be the oldest sworn president entering his first term – a man who is a cancer survivor, to boot.  Palin is not someone I trust to step in and be president.  Period.

Tonight my mom blamed the liberal media and “those Democrats” for the negative press that Palin has been getting.  We should be supporting someone who is so strongly pro-life and lay off of the daughter, and focus on the excitement that Palin brings to the ticket.

Well, no, I don’t think so.  It doesn’t make me excited, it makes me crazy.  The family is off limits and I will support that — for both families.  But Palin isn’t someone that most people have ever heard of before, and it’s natural that questions are being raised.  And in this Web 2.0 world, there’s no way that opinions remain local.  My favorite Alaskan blogger is Mudflats;  I’ve learned a lot from reading his posts and recommend them to you.

I’m far more comfortable here in my liberal heartland with friends who are liberal and who share political agendas.  And I’m already not looking forward to going to Texas for Christmas, where I’m terribly outnumbered and feel out of place.

4 thoughts on “Liberal and Proud of It

  1. My husband’s family thinks it is normal to discuss this stuff at the dinner table – which I find uncomfortable and quite rude. When I think about the rude-ness – I guess I feel that way because everyone that the dinner table is TRAPPED and has to listen to the conversation. Not appetizing conversation. . .

    To be very specific Evangelical makes me very uncomfortable – in a squirmy kind of way – so I am not excited about listening to all of the discussions about Palin on NPR now. And the bits that I heard yesterday – they were concerned that she would be too busy with family issues to do her job as VP – it made me wonder if she is so busy running around that she wasn’t actually taking care of her family issues. . .if one doesn’t spend time taking care of them when they are small – the one spends a LOT of time taking care of them when they are bigger. . .

  2. I just read that Palin line-item vetoed funds for pregnant teenagers. Like I said in my blog, can you imagine what kind of moral outrage would be spewed if the Democrats’ had an unmarried pregnant daughter (wait, what about Dick Cheney’s daughter?). I can well imagine what kind of discussion there would be about this: who is watching the kids.

    I think it’s interesting and very disingenious of McCain to nominate her. I think she will bring back the religious groups that has shied away from his candidacy. But she’s very, very inexperienced. I don’t really care whether she’s a mom or not in my opinion. I don’t like her politics or her stands. I totally disagree with her politics. The fact that she’s a mom just muddies up the water.

    Maybe by the time Christmas rolls around, Anne, things will be calmer. Right now, it’s just the thick of conventions, new information about Palin is coming out every day (and not just by those liberals! LOL) and there’s probably more ahead. You could be at my dad’s house and hear worse things in a way. 😦

  3. My husband said the exact same thing about if it were a Democrat with a pregnant teenager.

    And I don’t mind her running – IF someone, somewhere is tending her kids – if they said that her husband had put his boat in storage and would be home full time while she is traveling around the country – that would be fine.

    I think it is the special needs baby that is worry/bothering me (more than the teenager).

  4. She frickin’ scares me. Period.
    And it scares me that ANYONE in America agrees with her outlandish, reactionary, reality-denying positions…but I know they do. 😦

Leave a Reply

