Random Thoughts of a Disordered Mind

Update on my Houston Family

4 Comments

Donate to the American Red Cross — your help is urgently needed.

The post-Ike situation in Houston is getting very bad.  We hear so much about hurrican preparations but don’t think about what it would be like to live in a place after a major hurricane has whirled through, leaving destruction in its wake.  But we saw all of this in 2005 with Katrina in poor New Orleans, which is still recovering from its devastation.  People suffered from no food, no water, no power, sewage spilling into the streets, debris and damage everywhere.

The same thing is happening in Houston.  Parts of the city are destroyed; others have debris to be cleared but not so much property destruction.  But millions of people have no power under that humid Texas heat.  Food is rotting, tempers are flaring, and energy is sapped.  Relief workers need supplies themselves so they can take care of those who need their help.  Many areas in southeast Texas still are flooded.

I’m grateful that my family is safe.  My brother has a ranch (a fancy name for a house in the middle of nowhere that needs a lot of work) about two hours outside of Houston.  The whole family has retreated there and are enjoying AC, water, power, and literally time to relax.  My nephew’s foot surgery, originally scheduled for last Friday and rescheduled for tomorrow, has been rescheduled again along with all elective surgeries.  All Houston schools are closed for the week at least, so my sister-in-law doesn’t have the pressure of getting back for her teaching job.  And my brother’s office is still powerless so there’s no point in his even trying to work, though there are things he can do on the laptop even without the internet.

They have me and my mom to relay information and news updates while they wait for power to be restored and they venture a return.

They’re very lucky.

4 thoughts on “Update on my Houston Family

  1. Glad to hear your family is safe and together. I bet you are missing them all right now. So I am inspired by your brother and… now I really want to start calling my house a ranch. Or maybe Carb City, which is more ranch-like, since my house barely has a yard, let alone acreage.

  2. glad that things are stablized for your brother. He never lost his power at all? (or is he on generator?)

    I heard a story on NPR yesterday – adult with breathing equipment and his mom and grandmother were standing in line for a generator (and then in turn gas) and I kept wondering WHY (if they had someone with a severe medical condition) they didn’t have all of this BEFORE – so they were prepared.

    I always think this about the lines for bottled water too. Cases of bottled water seems like a pretty standard thing to have in this day and age. . .

  3. Anne, thank you for asking how the kids and I are doing. We are safe and starting over in Tyler with my parents . . . of course, we have been here since June. We are NW of the city and we lost no power – just some leaves off trees. I know the storm went straight up HWY 69 and devistated a lot of NE Texas, so we feel lucky. I hope your parents’ had minimal or no damage to their home.

    The house in Kingwood was spared any wind damage, though we did lose our backyard fence. As of last night, there was still no electricity and I know that Humble ISD is out until Thursday of next week. Hope your brother is fairing better and has some electricity by now.

    I have been very disappointed about media coverage of Houston and the aftermath. It is the fourth largest city in the states and it has completely shut down. I am wondering if the government applied pressure to keep the media from reporting what it is really like down there.

  4. MY DAD HAS BEEN GOING THROUGH PROSTATE -> BONE CANCER OVER THE LAST 4 YEARS, HAS NOW BECOME SO SICK WHERE RADIATION DIDNT EVEN HELP. HE LET HIS HEALTH GET SO BAD TO BEGIN WITH THAT EVERY THING HAD SPREAD TO HIS BONES, SO FAR NO ORGANS. ANYWAY, ME BEING THE ONLY CHILD, HE LIVES WITH ME AND MY HUSBAND. MY DAD HAS BEEN A GREAT ROOMIE. BUT…….TODAY HE CALLED ME UPSTAIRS TO TALK TO ME. HE SAID THAT HES GETTING SICKER BY THE DAY, AND WHEN HE GOES TO THE DR. THIS WEEK HE’S GOING TO ASK HIM IF HE CAN GIVE HIM A SHOT TO PUT HIM TO SLEEP (PERMANENTLY). OUR FAMILY IS PRETTY OPEN ABOUT THE SUBJECT OF ASSISTED SUICIDE, BUT THIS WAS JUST A LOAD. I FEEL SO ANGRY. I WISH THAT HE DIDNT TELL ME THIS. YES, HE’S THE ONE WHO’S GOING THROUGH THIS, BUT DOESN’T HE HAVE ANY IDEA AS TO WHAT THIS WHOLE THING HAS PUT ME THROUGH/ I SUPPOSE THAT WHEN YOUR’ THAT SICK, YOU DON’T THINK ABOUT IT. BUT I FELT THIS ANGE – OBVIOUSELY STILL DO, BECAUSE I’VE ALWAYS FELT THAT MY PARENTS TOOK EARTHLY LIFE SO CASUALLY, ALMOST AS THOUGH THEY HAD NO REGARD FOR IT AND IT’S JUST AS DISPOSABLE AS A CARDBOARD BOX. I HATE THIS BECAUSE I FEEL LIKE I CAN’T EVEN TALK TO HIM ABOUT IT. IT’S AS THOUGH SINCE MY MOM PASSED AWAY 5 YEARS AGO, HE’S JUST BEEN WAITING FOR THE OPPORTUNITY TO DIE. HOW THE HELL DOES HE EXPECT ME TO RESPOND TO THIS? HE NEVER EVEN TRIED TO MAKE ANYTHING OUT OF LIFE AFTER MY MOM. SO IN OTHER WORDS, I’VE BEEN WATCHING HIM DIE FOR 5 YEARS, WITHOUT SO MUCH AS ………..I FEEL LIKE HE’S DOING SOMETHING TO ME, WHEN I ACTUALLY KNOW THAT IT’S HIM THAT’S DESPERATELY SICK. I DON’T WANT TO DISCUSS THIS WITH ANYONE BECAUSE IT’S SO HORRIBLY DISTURBING. HE SITS, READS, CONTEMPLATES, BUT WANTS THE DR. TO KILL HIM WITH MY APPROVAL. MY GOD, WHAT A SPOT. HOW COULD HE SAY THIS TO ME. IM JUST SO ANGRY WITH HIM RIGHT NOW. IM HIS DAUGHTER, NOT SOME STRANGER OFF THE STREET. I JUST TOLD HIM THAT I COULDNT TALK ABOUT IT, BUT I WONT STAND IN THE WAY OF HIS WISHES. THERE IS NOTHING ELSE THAT I CAN SAY OR DO.

Leave a Reply

