Random Thoughts of a Disordered Mind

Join the Army of Women

2 Comments

I just signed up to be a volunteer in the Love/Avon Army of Women after seeing a story on ABC News.  From their “about us” page:

The Dr. Susan Love Research Foundation and the Avon Foundation, a global leader in breast cancer research, joined forces to launch the Love/Avon Army of Women.

Our revolutionary initiative has two key goals:

  • To recruit one million healthy women of every age and ethnicity, including breast cancer survivors and women at high-risk for the disease, to partner with breast cancer researchers and directly participate in the research that will eradicate breast cancer once and for all.
  • To challenge the scientific community to expand its current focus to include breast cancer prevention research conducted on healthy women.

Join us in this movement that will take us beyond a cure by creating new opportunities to study what causes breast cancer—and how to prevent it.

Basically they are recruiting a million women of all ages, ethnicities, and family histories to participate in research to help eradicate the disease.  I read the FAQ on the site and decided to sign up on the spot.  I can choose not to participate in anything or select some that work with my schedule and life. Although there is no history of breast cancer in my family, I know that it could come out of the blue.  And I’ve lost friends to this disease.

Frankly, maybe including a healthy obese woman in studies may give them additional information that could help someone else.  If I can do something to help researchers save lives, it’s worth it.

I urge you to join me.  Take the time to read about the project and register to make a difference.

2 thoughts on “Join the Army of Women

  1. I just joined. BC doesn’t really run in my family (a great aunt had it in her 80s), but like you said, I feel if my participation will help researchers, it’s worth it. Thanks for the tip!

  2. Thanks for posting this, Anne. I got invitations to this from two friends in the past two days and I just deleted them because there was no explanation of what it was (and I had no time to figure it out myself). I’m going to go join now. Although I’ve got no history of breast cancer in my family, I had my first GOOD mammogram in my life two weeks ago (although I was ok on all my others, I had to go back for re-checks and that was SCARY).

Leave a Reply

