Random Thoughts of a Disordered Mind

Wow, Just Wow

2 Comments

FlagOne of my friends said she kept waking up early yesterday (2:30, 3:15, 4:25) asking herself, “Is it time to go vote yet?”  Just like Christmas.

The energy yesterday was palpable everywhere I went, from my polling place to the office to standing in line for my bagel at Au Bon Pain to chatting with people last night online.  I’ve never seen so many people so excited, so energized about an election before, no matter which candidate they supported.  They stood in lines for hours just to cast their vote because they believed it mattered, some for the first time ever.

I’m thrilled that Obama won.  I believe in him and where he can take the country.  But millions of people who voted for McCain are full of other emotions today, and we need to honor that and work together to move on.  It was eye-opening to follow the New York Times Word Train last night as the day went on, to see the words that people of both sides used to describe their emotions.

My last two candidates lost the presidency, one after going to the Supreme Court, and the country survived.  This is what we do here in the United States.  We have peaceful transition of power and work together to face the challenges that we all face together.

And if you start to miss Joe the Plumber on the news every other minute, there are bobbleheads available on eBay.  Act fast to get a piece of electoral memorabilia.  Or not. Me, I’m sick of him and glad it’s time to move on.

2 thoughts on “Wow, Just Wow

  1. It was exciting! I was listening to John Lewis on NPR this morning and remembering the woman who voted for the first time ever (and she was MY age) and everyone who came into my precinct — no one was really mad (except for one guy).

    Yes, this is the first presidential candidate that I voted for who won. I know the McCain people are sad and I can understand and try to have empathy for them. OTOH, I think so many of the ones I’ve met have such a different POV (thanks to crap on the tv/web) that my sympathy is somewhat muted a bit.

    I hope we can move TOGETHER and move forward and maybe look for the things we have in common and operate out of hope, not fear.

  2. I was the same way yesterday morning…couldn’t WAIT to get up and get to the polls. And this morning I woke up with a grin…everything seems possible now. I know that things won’t be perfect, but I also know that things will be BETTER. 🙂

Leave a Reply

