Random Thoughts of a Disordered Mind

Cold and Blessed

3 Comments

Shivering in the coldIt’s hard to type with a bandaid on my thumb. Why do I have one?  Because my cold-induced frozen brain didn’t remember that knives have a sharp side and that I shouldn’t grab the pointy parts when doing dishes.   Oops.

Last weekend I was wearing sandals and a light jacket when I went about my Saturday errands.  Yesterday I had on the puffy coat, scarf, fleece hat, and insulated gloves.  Warm weather is gone until late spring and the kitty and I are having problems adjusting.  She wants me to have the door open so she can pretend she is outside freezing.  I want to close everything and crank up the heat.  I have the opposable thumbs (even if one is in a bandaid) so I’m winning this one.

I went out in the cold yesterday to run some errands, including a stop at Avenue to return something purchased online that I didn’t like in person (yayy for saving money and not keeping it just because it was already there).  At TJ Maxx/Home Goods, the store was full of people who were doing more looking than buying; clothes were the most popular thing found in carts, not the aisles of fancy schmancy Christmas decorations.

The grocery store was a nut-house with people shopping like crazy for Thanksgiving dinner and extended entertaining.  I managed to stick to my list except for lima beans which were inexplicably missing from the frozen food section.  Why would a store sell out of LIMA BEANS?  I only use them for one recipe and would never want a little serving of just limas.  Oh well, I’m substituting edamame in today’s Brunswick Stew recipe instead, because it was already in the freezer.  Plus it will add some additional protein.

The local fire department was outside the grocery, soliciting donations for the food bank.  Much as I want to donate food to the pantry, I’ve had a hard time finding actual physical locations to take stuff so this was perfect.  In addition to my own stuff, I added in pasta and meat sauce, a big can of ravioli, a bunch of jars of baby food, and canned fruit, which I added to their boxes as I left the store.  Plus $20 to help buy turkeys for families.

I have so much, am so blessed with a home, food, and money to buy what I need.  Watching stories of the newly homeless, the folks without medical care or making choices between food and electricity, food banks with empty shelves, and so much more, has made me feel helpless and sad.  But I’ve decided that I can do something with the money I have — it’s not a cop out to donate to organizations that actively help people.  The Food Pantry and the Salvation Army are two that I’m choosing to support this winter, not just once, but often.  Since we’re scaling back Christmas shopping, I’m going to just channel the “extra” money into donations.   It feels good to know that I can help.

3 thoughts on “Cold and Blessed

  1. Another similarity for us to share – I was also going through the bandaided finger issue. Mine was my left index finger – cut on a can lid, cleaning up after making a casserole that contained, among other things, lima beans! Small world!

    If you haven’t discovered it yet, the “liquid bandages” – I’m using one called New Skin – are great for these kind of injuries that are in places that are awkward with bandages. I suffered through 48 hours before someone recommended it, and I highly recommend it.

    Great idea about increasing donations this season. the whole idea of the new homeless is both disturbing and scary. These days I feel like I’m just one pink slip away…

    Hope you have a great Thanksgiving.

  2. I feel lucky too and I’ve been more motivated to do more with my United Way campaign request from work. I could go through my cabinets and donate some things (and go through Jamie’s too — he has a lot of extra stuff) for the food bank.

    I hope your finger heals up soon!

  3. Happy Thanksgiving! What you are doing by donating is really the most beautiful way to express your thankfulness for all you are blessed with… 🙂

Leave a Reply

