Random Thoughts of a Disordered Mind

Reconnecting with Friends

1 Comment

While many of you were running around traveling or hosting family, I’ve been connecting with friends.  I spent Thanksgiving afternoon with a friend and work colleague I’ve known for over 20 years, who opened her home and her family to include me.  Today I caught up with another dear friend who lives in VT and was down in Connecticut visiting family for the holiday.  They’re splitting the visit between two sets of family and stopped here for a long lunch visit.

It’s been at least two years since we’ve seen each other and we just picked up where we left off.  Really, it’s remarkable how easy it is these days to stay connected using email and Facebook for contact, but there’s nothing like giving each other big hugs and having eye contact while talking and talking.  We went to a local Irish pub for lunch – a place I’ve driven past every day but never actually tried before.  Food was great and we had a nice relaxing time.

We are born into families, marry into other families, and build families of our own from our circle of friends. Sometimes those different groups overlap and other times, for other people, they are separate entities.  My family of friends means the world to me.  They are people I’ve forged a history with through the years and through shared experiences and adventures.  Reconnecting with them matters as much as reconnecting with my family of origin.

One thought on “Reconnecting with Friends

  1. I’ve been having lots of fun with Facebook; I found an old friend and now I’ve just befriended the hostess from our Thanksgiving weekend. We do not have the choice of who is in our family but we willingly (I hope) choose our friends. I’m so glad you had a very good holiday weekend!

Leave a Reply

