Random Thoughts of a Disordered Mind

No Resolutions for 2009

3 Comments

New Years CelebrationI don’t make New Years resolutions anymore.  The things that always were on the list – lose weight, exercise regularly, eat healthy, save money – were almost always unattainable because I made them too specific, trying to stretch myself to be a Good Person and making myself miserable.

The fact is that I’m a Good Person without the resolutions.  And I already know that losing weight, exercising regularly, eating healthy foods, and managing money better are things that should be part of my life, and I’m working to improve them.   I know what to do, it’s really a matter of setting small achievable steps and then building on that.

I noticed on my Texas trip that I wasn’t eating low-fat healthy food all the time – and also wasn’t snacking between meals the way I often do at home.   I was just more satisfied with the flavors and textures, and didn’t want more.  Nothing was off limits or hidden away – so there was no need to sneak. We had good protein, complex carbs, veggies (even sweet and sour red cabbage for Christmas dinner), desserts of all kinds – plus fresh fruit sitting around all the time.  We ate out and had Chinese take out.  It just felt normal.  I didn’t gain any weight and didn’t feel deprived.  I liked it.

My niece gave me a copy of Alice Waters’ The Art of Simple Food for Christmas and I look forward to reading, learning, and expanding the things I eat in 2009. Of course, right now I’m hampered by a fractured clavicle and my right arm is in a sling.  Somehow I think this is going to be a hindrance in the kitchen for the next few weeks, not to mention facing snow piles outside that need to be shoveled.  How can I cut up apples for applesauce, or onions for roasting or all sorts of other things using only my left hand?  I think a fair amount of processed foods are in my near future.

Happy New Year – without resolutions – from me and the kitty.

3 thoughts on “No Resolutions for 2009

  1. Anne, when did you break your clavicle and how? How did I miss that in recent posts?

    Left-handed cooking would be, um, challenging, but I’d head for the deli for fresh salads (fruit and vegetable) and good cheese. Personally I think frozen dinners and processed foods in general are too little bang for the buck(s).

    Left-handed typing must be quite a trick, too!

    Take care … I’m glad you’re back.

  2. I have found the same thing when eating real food vs. lowfat/diet stuff — I enjoy the food more and don’t need to snack as much.

    Hope your resolution-free year is a great one. My only resolution is to use the appreciation exercises to pay more attention to the good that’s already in my life.

  3. Sorry to hear about your collarbone! Hoping you have a speedy recovery.

    I love that cookbook – bought it in the last great book splurge at the end of Dec 2007.

Leave a Reply

