Random Thoughts of a Disordered Mind

Pro Day for my Nephew Tomorrow

5 Comments

Rob in UniformPlease think good thoughts tomorrow for my nephew.  He has a chance to get into the NFL draft for a spot on a professional football team which is all kinds of awesome.  Last month he went to the NFL Combine in Indianapolis (silly me, I thought a combine was a farm implement) where he went through rigorous medical tests, psych tests, and interviews with all the NFL teams.   Only some 320 college kids from around the country are invited to the Combine so it’s a Big Deal.

My nephew was coming off of a foot injury that sidelined him his entire senior year following surgery.  So the fact that he even got a Combine invitation, in spite of missing an entire season, speaks volumes.  Because he was still finishing rehab, he postponed the drills and weight lifting sections of the Combine until Pro Day.

If you’re not a football fan, you may not know that that is. I know I didn’t, any more than I knew what a combine was.  Apparently NFL scouts visit colleges and universities all over the country, several a day, five days a week for six weeks.  They watch draft prosects work out on their home field, and that information is added to the results of the Combine, helping teams made decisions on who they want to draft.  The draft takes place in late April.

Rob’s Pro Day is tomorrow.  He is an incredibly disciplined athlete who has been taking this whole amazing ride one step, one workout, one play at a time.  He has a dream to play professional football.  He may or may not make it but he’s understood all along that you can’t get to the goal without putting in endless hours of work, planning, and sacrifice.  I expect that he will be awesome but no matter what, he’s a winner in my book.

5 thoughts on “Pro Day for my Nephew Tomorrow

  1. Will do! That’s pretty awesome and it speaks volume about his dedication and commitment. I hope it works out — keep us posted! I’ll be happy to find a new team to root for around here! 🙂

  2. Crossing fingers and, whatever happens, hoping that he has a GREAT day!!!!

  3. Color me impressed. Many athlete’s dream, but few are chosen. Best wishes sent your way. (won’t say good luck, because LUCK has nuttin to do with it!)

  4. Where do you think he gets that discipline? The longer I live the more I think discipline is the BEST personality trait to have and develop. Maybe he will win the Heisman trophy. That is for foot ball isn’t it? For all I know it could be for table tennis. Cheers

  5. How did it go? I keep popping in and hoping to see! 🙂

Leave a Reply

