Random Thoughts of a Disordered Mind

My Nephew Will Play Pro Ball!

1 Comment

I iz Reddy to Play Nao CoachLast weekend was the NFL Draft, where 32 players worked there way through 7 rounds of selections to tap players to join their professional football teams. I even watched some of it, not that it meant a whole lot since I didn’t know any of the players and the only team I knew anything about was the Patriots.

My nephew, my awesome college football playing nephew, was realistic about his prospects going into the draft.  Because of his injuries, he didn’t expect to be drafted – but thought he had a good chance to be picked as an undrafted free agent.

He was right – and signed with the New York Jets last night, a few hours after the draft ended.  He flies to NY later this week.  Of course, there’s no guarantee that he’ll make the final roster, but he’s taken this whole journey one step at a time and will carry that focus and determination into training camp.

I’m thrilled for him and pinching myself that someone I know – am related to! – will be one of those players I watch on TV.   Way to go, Rob!

One thought on “My Nephew Will Play Pro Ball!

  1. How exciting! Congrats to him AND you, and hope you’re feeling better after your fall.

Leave a Reply

