Random Thoughts of a Disordered Mind

Recipe: Crockpot Salsa Chicken

5 Comments

SparkRecipes is a wonderful site with recipes submitted by members with nutritional information for everything. It’s not Weight Watchers or any other plan but having the nutrition makes it easy to figure out points values (if that floats your boat) or other things to watch for such as lower fat, carbs, whatever.

One of the most popular recipes is for Slow-Cooker Salsa Chicken, which I’ve been wanting to try for a while.  I made it today, with some variations suggested by some of the people who made comments.  It was awesome and will be added as a regular option.

Crockpot Salsa Chicken

4 boneless skinless chicken breasts (approximately 1 1/4 lbs)
1/3 packet reduced sodium taco seasoning (or regular if you can’t find the reduced sodium)
1 C. fresh salsa
1 can black beans, rinsed and drained
1 can corn, drained
1 can cheddar cheese soup
1/2 C. fat free sour cream

Spray crockpot with cooking spray.  Place chicken breasts in bottom and sprinkle with taco seasoning.  Pour salsa on top of that, followed by black beans and corn.  Top with cheddar cheese soup.  Leave in layers; do not mix.  Cook on low for 6-8 hours.  Shred chicken with a fork.  Turn off heat and stir in FF sour cream.  Serve over rice.

Yield:  5 servings, approx. 2/3 C. each = 5 points  (rice not included)
Supposed to be even better as leftovers, which could be folded into tortillas or turned into a quesadilla.

5 thoughts on “Recipe: Crockpot Salsa Chicken

  1. This looks yummy. Is it very spicy? I can totally see using it as leftovers the way you described it!

    • It’s as spicy as the salsa you use, I think. I used a mild kind and only about 1/3 of the taco seasoning packet. If you used more seasoning and a hot salsa, or added chilis or jalapenos, it would spice it up a lot.

      I’d never used the canned cheese soup before but think it helped make it more Mexican-y, if that makes sense. The original called for 98% FF cream of mushroom. That seemed kinda blah.

  2. This is very similar to a recipe I cut out of the paper years ago and that has since become a staple … when I’m in a cooking mood, which hasn’t been for a while.

    The recipe I had was only 4 ingredients – boneless, skinless chicken breasts, a small-medium onion chopped, taco seasoning packet, and a can of rotel tomatoes (I use the chile lime). Throw it in the crockpot. You shred it with a fork and use in tacos or on salads – it’s really all chicken by the time it cooks down – too thick to put on rice.

    But that’s another variety to try – and without the cheese soup, beans and sour cream would have to be less points (I should know how many, but I don’t off the top of my head).

    I’ve been trying to get more enthusiastic about cooking lately. Bought a pound of salmon to cook yesterday and it’s still sitting in the fridge. Any good ideas for a basic recipe to cook salmon and then have it to use on salads or as a main course with veggies? I have an old WW recipe I like, but it calls for melted margarine and while that’s fine if you’re eating it right away out of the oven, it’s kind of gross after a day or two in the fridge!

    Thanks for sharing your recipe. I’m getting closer and closer every day to getting back on track – I can at least see it from here now (the track that is). You’re an inspiration!

  3. Sounds yummy!!! I’ve hardly used my crockpot that I got for Xmas and I need good healthy recipes. 🙂

Leave a Reply

