Random Thoughts of a Disordered Mind

Healthy but … not

4 Comments

Tessie on Grocery BagsLately I’ve been having problems with the good knee.  You know, the one that is taking the brunt of walking funny because the bad knee throw out joint pain with almost every step.  The problem with the good one isn’t the joint at all, it’s the muscle behind it coming down the back of the thigh ending in the knee.  Maybe it’s the hamstring?  Whatever it is, it’s hard as a rock and without any warning, but often when I stand up from sitting or climb stairs, it just starts to spasm and won’t let me straighten it or bend it or put weight on it.  Today it happened 4 times.

I must say, it makes walking a little difficult not to mention painful and annoying.  I’ve been working on stretches for a couple of weeks (the football player nephew recommended some hamstring stretches) and have a heating pad on it now.  But having problems with the good leg just gets me seriously cranky – and moving carefully so I don’t set it off.

On top of that, I’ve had a toothache since Friday night.  Being unaccustomed to dental emergencies, I wasn’t sure if this qualified so lived with it over the weekend, not wanting to bother anyone.  Besides, the pain was coming and going.  By Sunday, though, it morphed into a different animal with pain on the top and bottom, in the back and up to the front all along the jaw.  It was confusing – if it was a toothache, why was it hurting all over?

I saw the dentist on Monday.  She tapped all the teeth with this little metal thing, and much as I expected something to hurt, I sat there calm and collected – which meant I didn’t have an abscess or I would have been flying out of the chair.  Good to know for future reference.  Although the teeth seem mostly fine, there is apparently something odd in the tissue inside the cheek – not uncommon but not normal either.  Why that would be messing up and causing pain all over the left side of the mouth is a mystery.

For now the solution is to take Tylenol as often as I can, and smear plain unsweetened yogurt on the inside of the cheek.  I know, that sounds totally weird.  But it actually does help and not just for soothing the sore place on the inside.  I’m to call the dentist back on Thursday to check in on how I am and I suspect that xrays and probably a root canal & crown are in my future.  Though I still don’t understand why the whole thing hurts from one tooth.  But hey, I’m a librarian, not a dentist.

In other medical news,  I will be meeting with the bariatric surgeon in early September.  They hold monthly group sessions for people at the same point in the process so the surgerons can explain the procedure and we can ask tons of questions.   I like being in groups since someone else’s question can often raise additional questions in my own head.  More on this as it comes closer.

Oh, and did I mention that my nephew played his first NFL game last week against the Patriots?  That’s my team, but honestly, how could I not root for my family??  This week, national TV.  Yayyyy!

4 thoughts on “Healthy but … not

  1. I still haven’t quite mastered which is the hamstring and which is the quad. I’ve been trying (very half-heartedly, mind you) to do some of the simple exercises I learned from the PT study. I’m so sorry that you’re having problems with your good knee. I totally understand.

    But the dental problems–it just sounds so painful and uncomfortable (and I realize what an oxymoron that phrase is…). I hope that they can figure out what’s wrong and do something to fix it.

    You must be a bit excited/nervous about the meeting in September. I agree with you — groups are useful in things like this not only because they will remind you to ask some other questions but for me, they ask some of the ones I’m afraid to ask about.

    Get better soon!

  2. Sorry to hear that you’re having trouble with the good leg. That has to be pretty disheartening. I hope it feels better soon.

    I wonder if your tooth problem is actually a sinus problem. I had some similar pain and my dentist said that sometimes a sinus issue can trigger pain in the jaw. I know you have allergies.

    Good luck to you (meeting) and the nephew (NFL).

  3. Ugh! Dental work is the worst. And this I know from experience as I’ve had more than my fair share of it over the years. Hope it clears up or at least doesn’t cost you an arm and a leg to get fixed (which would be the case if you need a root canal and/or a crown).

    Definitely keep up the hamstring stretches. Stretching is amazingly important it seems and can make a big difference.

    Hang in there!

  4. I totally sympathize with having problems with the “good” leg…I’m to the point now where I don’t really have a “good” leg anymore because I guess I waited too long to fix the “bad” one. It still amazes me how each little part of our bodies affects the others. Guess I should have paid more attention in my science classes… 😉

    I’ve had dental drama all this summer and, many dollars and doctor visits later, am still uncomfortable on “that” side of my mouth. My dentist seems perplexed as to why. This, of course, does not make me have a lot of confidence in him. For now, my pain isn’t horrible and doesn’t come very often…mostly just discomfort….so I’ve decided to wait a few more months and see if things “settle”. I hope yours do!

Leave a Reply

