Random Thoughts of a Disordered Mind

I am Many Things, But Graceful Isn’t One of Them

3 Comments

I sit here counting my sore places which are aching, tender, a little swollen, and starting to bruise.  And wishing I was less of a klutz.  Clearly the weight loss has not changed some basic movement competence.

Lunch was in the Dining Hall today because it was raining and I didn’t want to get wet.  I go there all the time and haven’t had a problem wending my way other than the hallways full of students too busy texting to pay attention to the people around them.  Today the area outside the Dining Hall had some weather mats on the floor to absorb some of the wet people were tracking in.

My foot caught on the mat and I could feel my body in the air on the way to fall (it’s happened before so I’m used to the sensation and try to avoid it all costs).  I grabbed the wooden door, slamming my right side against it as I scrambled to keep my balance.  My right forearm is bruised and scraped, the heel of my palm is swollen, tender, and still stings, and my knee was wrenched a bit in the process.  It wasn’t until I was on my way home that I realized that there’s a small bump on my forehead and now I have an achy headache.

I am grumpy.

On the other hand, I finished my big genealogy project and presentation last week.  Not only did I do a PowerPoint and write a script, I also did a handout and created a wiki to provide more information for my colleagues who wanted to know more or couldn’t remember what I’d said – or both.   Here’s the link:  Climbing Your Family Tree Wiki.  It’s still a work in progress but it’s a good start.

There’s been no time for blogging lately because my evening time has been spent looking up relatives of mine or one of my colleagues in census and immigration records, and lately in city directories.  I love puzzles and sorting out relatives is a great long-term activity.  It makes a great evening companion for me while watching TV, plus I love finding new little names, dates, and locations that fill out the picture.

In the meantime, the weight loss is creeping along, and I’m less than a pound away from a 100 lb loss.  I’m not worried about the speed because my body shape is changing most of the time.   I do have a fair amount of excess skin which is starting to drive me crazy.  It was stretched out for 30+ years, and while some of it may be elastic, I’m going to end up with more than I thought.  I’ve worked out something with my doctor to document the skin issues (mostly rashes in skin folds) so that in a few years I can take that to a plastic surgeon to show it’s a medical issue.  It won’t hurt to have documented whether I decided to have more surgery or not, and right now I’m not really inclined to.

3 thoughts on “I am Many Things, But Graceful Isn’t One of Them

  1. I know exactly the feeling you’re describing – of being airborne, knowing what is coming, and not being able to stop it – hate it! Sorry you were so injured. Hope everything heals up quickly.

    Sounds like you’re doing great on your weight loss. You look wonderful in your pictures. I’m quite envious!

  2. Wondered how you were doing since you haven’t been blogging much. I saw your post about the fall yesterday. Glad you were not seriously hurt!

  3. What a cool wiki!! Love it! Someday I hope to have time to look into this myself. 🙂
    And HUGE congrats on the weight loss…yay for you!

Leave a Reply

